Announcing the Winners of the
29th Annual Palo Alto Weekly 2015
Short Story Contest

Each individual has his or her own quirks, a collection of experiences, a way of seeing the world. What happens when that person's inner life collides with that of another? Will they remain inflexible, resulting in broken lives and hearts? Or will they learn from one another until they both change, embracing a greater diversity of ideas and perspectives?

Among other motifs and issues, relationships emerge as central to the three winning stories of the Adult, Young Adult and Teen categories of this year's Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest.

Characters of all stripes grapple with their own and others' stubbornness while contemplating the opportunities of the future and the mistakes of the past. The personalities and situations in these stories ask readers to consider how they relate to and treat those closest to them.

The Palo Alto Weekly would like to thank the 115 writers who submitted work to this year's contest; the readers Danielle Truppi and Sharon Levin, who selected the top entries in each category for the judges to consider; the Adult and Young Adult category judges, Tom Parker and Meg Waite Clayton; and the judges for the Teen category, Katy Obringer, Nancy Etchemendy and Caryn Huberman Yacowitz. The Weekly also like to thank the contest co-sponsors, Bell's Books of Palo Alto, Kepler's Books of Menlo Park and Linden Tree Books of Los Altos.



Adult Winners

First Place

Ian Sears
Place of Waiting

Second Place
Rayme Waters
The Graduate

Third Place
Margaret Young

Youth Winners

Teen 12-14

First Place

Deiana Hristov
Ivan and Natasha

Second Place
Tjasa Kmetec
The Skeleton Man

Third Place
Catherine Vera
The Myth of Apollonia

Young Adult 15-17

First Place

Hannah Knowles

Second Place
Caroline Bailey
Time of the Angels

Third Place
Zarin Mohsenin
A Distinct Shade of Blue

Short Story Contest judges



Kepler's Books and Magazines, Palo Alto Linden Tree, Palo AltoBell's Books, Palo Alto


Past winners:

2022 winners | 2021 winners | 2020 winners | 2019 winners | 2018 winners | 2017 winners | 2016 winners | 2015 winners
2014 winners | 2012-2013 winners | 2011 winners | 2010 winners
2009 winners | 2008 winners | 2007 winners | 2006 winners | 2005 winners
2004 winners | 2003 winners | 2002 winners | 2001 winners | 2000 winners
1999 winners | 1998 winners | 1997 winners | 1996 winners

Stay informed.

Get the day's top headlines from Palo Alto Online sent to your inbox in the Express newsletter.