Short Story Contest Logo
Adult Winners

The spark of imagination meets the tinderbox of experience in the 22nd annual Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest. This year's first-place stories read like a cross-section of popular literary genres, including a swift fantasy, a bittersweet teen romance, an inspired period piece, a surrealistic personality sketch and a bristly relationship tipped over the edge. It's a lot of inspiration from this bayside 'burb best known for its technical minds. Maybe because time seems so scarce in the Silicon Valley, Palo Alto writers will take inspiration wherever and whenever they can get it. For some, the source is a favorite book or author; some credit former teachers and school writing programs; some even received that elusive nudge of motivation in their dreams. Judging by the sudden procession of cars into the Weekly's parking lot and the out-of-breath authors rushing to our doors at 5:29 p.m. on deadline day, some of that inspiration came at the very last minute. Our thanks go out to you, and to our event's co-sponsors: Bell's Books, Kepler's Books & Magazines, Linden Tree and Palo Alto Online. Happy reading.

First Place
Chistine Chua,

The End of the Party

Second Place
Noelle O'Reilly,
Agnes in Light

Third Place
Shelly King,
Stone Cabin

Youth Winners

Children 9-11

First Place
Elisabeth Yan

Second Place
Sabrina Lui

Too Late for Joy

Third Place
Langsi Wu

Teen 12-14

First Place - TIE
Sarah Huang
Waters of Miratha

First Place - TIE
Grace Barry
Meggie Ketch

Second Place
Jeremy Laufer

No Homework, No Hockey

Young Adult 15-17

First Place
Ellery Dake
The Party

Second Place
Molly Bolten
Unless Corn Colors the Candidate in Candor

Third Place
Sara Reihani

The Ceremony will be held December 12 , 2007 at 7 p.m. at Kepler's Books & Magazines at 1010 El Camino Real, Menlo Park.  
Friends and Family are welcome.

Short Story Contest JUDGES

Past winners:

2022 winners | 2021 winners | 2020 winners | 2019 winners | 2018 winners | 2017 winners | 2016 winners | 2015 winners
2014 winners | 2012-2013 winners | 2011 winners | 2010 winners
2009 winners | 2008 winners | 2007 winners | 2006 winners | 2005 winners
2004 winners | 2003 winners | 2002 winners | 2001 winners | 2000 winners
1999 winners | 1998 winners | 1997 winners | 1996 winners

Stay informed.

Get the day's top headlines from Palo Alto Online sent to your inbox in the Express newsletter.