Short Story Contest Logo
Adult Winners

Now in its 21st year, the annual Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest is again celebrating and recognizing the best fiction penned by our readers. This year, as in years past, the Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest welcomed hundreds of manuscripts from local authors of all ages. Set in locales ranging from the grittily real to the delightfully imagined, contestants offered up tales bubbling with humor, weighted with tragedy, and edged in irony. This year's winning authors created compelling characters whose journeys have led them to take a stand for what is right, to pursue what one hopes to be true, and to discover parts of themselves they never knew existed. We extend our thanks to the co-sponsors of this competition: Bell's Books, Kepler's, Linden Tree and Palo Alto Online. We would also like to thank all the contestants who entered this year's contest and invite community members to submit their works next year.

First Place
Shelly King,

The Sweetgum Tree

Second Place
Ly Chheng,
A House That Glows

Third Place
Joanna Holmes,
Scrap and Salvage

Youth Winners

Children 9-11

First Place
Anna Caltabiano
The Gift

Second Place
Tony Jin

Yoda's Twin Brother

Third Place
Joanna Tang

Teen 12-14

First Place
Lillian Xie
The Dog's Boy

Second Place
Camille von Kaenel
Star Deer

Third Place
Lynnelle Ye

Experiment of Life

Young Adult 15-17

First Place
Hilary Brennan-Marquez
In which Elena breaks Utah state law in a stolen car

Second Place
Larisse-Ann Ortiz-Luis
The Price of Admission

Third Place
Alexei Koseff
The Candy

The Ceremony will be held December 6th , 2006 at 7pm at Kepler's Books & Magazines at 1010 El Camino Real, Menlo Park.   Friends and Family are welcome.

Short Story Contest JUDGES


Past winners:

2022 winners | 2021 winners | 2020 winners | 2019 winners | 2018 winners | 2017 winners | 2016 winners | 2015 winners
2014 winners | 2012-2013 winners | 2011 winners | 2010 winners
2009 winners | 2008 winners | 2007 winners | 2006 winners | 2005 winners
2004 winners | 2003 winners | 2002 winners | 2001 winners | 2000 winners
1999 winners | 1998 winners | 1997 winners | 1996 winners

Stay informed.

Get the day's top headlines from Palo Alto Online sent to your inbox in the Express newsletter.