Modi, Steffens share Stanford's top athletic honor


Akash Modi (men's gymnastics) and Maggie Steffens (women's water polo) were honored as co-recipients of the Al Masters Award at the annual Stanford Athletics Board Awards ceremony, highlighting Stanford's success during the 2016-17 campaign.

It marks the fifth straight year two student-athletes shared the Al Masters Award, as Chiney Ogwumike (women's basketball) garnered the honor with Mark Appel (baseball) for the 2012-13 season and won alongside Patrick Rodgers (men's golf) in 2013-14.

Chasson Randle (men's basketball) and Jordan Richards (football) shared the award in 2014-15, and Jordan Morris (men's soccer) and Christian McCaffrey (football) were co-winners last year.

Overall, 27 varsity programs were represented during the ceremony while 41 student-athletes walked away with awards.

Pac-12 Tom Hansen Conference Medal: Akash Modi (men's gymnastics) and Maggie Steffens (women's water polo).

Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Maddie Bauer (women's soccer), Caroline Doyle (women's tennis), Peter Galli (wrestling), Brendan Larkin (rowing), Maverick McNealy (golf), Bessie Noll (softball).

NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship: Maddie Bauer (women's soccer), Sean McGorty (men's cross country), Adam Warmoth (men's water polo).

NCAA Elite 90 Award: Brittany McPhee (women's basketball).

Thomas W. Ford Award Women's volleyball.

Sherry Posthumus Club Sports Team of the Year: Archery.

Shirley Schoof Club Sports Players of the Year: Raquel Lane-Arellano (polo) and Sandro Luna (judo).

Arthur F. Dauer Memorial Sports Performance Award: Valarie Allman (women's track and field), Jack Barber (men's tennis).

Bob Murphy Award: Andrew Epstein (men's soccer), Maggie Steffens (women's water polo).

Conference Male Athlete of the Year: Tarek Abdelghany (diving), Tom Fawcett (tennis), True Sweetser (swimming).

Conference Female Athlete of the Year: Olivia Baker (track and field), Kassidy Cook (diving), Erica McCall (basketball).

Block "S" Outstanding Male Freshman: Grant Shoults (swimming).

Block "S" Outstanding Female Freshman: Katie Ledecky (swimming), Andrea Lee (golf), Kathryn Plummer (volleyball/beach volleyball).

Block "S" Outstanding Male Sophomore: Grant Fisher (cross country/track and field), Solomon Thomas (football).

Block "S" Outstanding Female Sophomore: Ella Eastin (swimming), Simone Manuel (swimming).

Block "S" Outstanding Male Junior: Colton Hock (baseball), Foster Langsdorf (soccer), Christian McCaffrey (football).

Block "S" Outstanding Female Junior: Ally Howe (swimming), Andi Sullivan (soccer).

Block "S" Honors for Men: Brendan Larkin (rowing).

Block "S" Honors for Women: Caroline Doyle (tennis)

Spirit of Stanford Award: Ruth Naroda (rowing), David Wilczynski (tennis).

Jake Gimbel Award: Peter Galli (wrestling), Garrett Sweatt (cross country/track and field)

Pam Strathairn Award: Brianna Goldstein (lightweight rowing), Nicole Stafford (swimming).

Biff Hoffman Award: Alex Massialas (fencing), Maverick McNealy (golf).

Stanford Athletics Board Award: Inky Ajanaku (volleyball), Lia Neal (swimming).

Dick and Anne Gould Captain's Award: Taylor Davidson (tennis), CC Ho (squash), Karlie Samuelson (basketball).

Al Masters Award: Akash Modi (gymnastics), Maggie Steffens (water polo).

— Stanford Athletics


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Greek restaurant Taverna opening in Palo Alto
By Elena Kadvany | 3 comments | 10,036 views

Retail's Real Estate Glut is Growing
By Steve Levy | 5 comments | 1,503 views

Couples: . . . “Joy is greater than sorrow,“ . . . “Nay, sorrow is the greater.”
By Chandrama Anderson | 1 comment | 1,037 views

Science week with grandma part 3
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 572 views

Munchie Movement
By Laura Stec | 5 comments | 545 views


2018 guide to summer camps

Looking for something for the kids to do this summer, learn something new and have fun? The 2018 Summer Camp Guide features local camps for all ages and interests.

Find Camps Here