Stanford's Thomas named Pac-12's Morris Trophy winner


Stanford junior defensive lineman Solomon Thomas was named winner of the Morris Trophy as the Pac-12 Conference football's top defensive lineman on Tuesday afternoon.

The Morris Trophy is given annually to the most outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pac-12. Winners are selected by opposing Pac-12 linemen, in which the league's offensive linemen vote for the defensive winner and vice versa. Utah's Isaac Asiata earned the Morris Trophy's offensive honor.

Thomas is Stanford's sixth Morris Trophy recipient, and the second defensive player to earn the award since Willie Howard in 1999. Other Stanford winners include Joshua Garnett (2015), Andrus Peat (2014), David Yankey (2012) and Kwame Harris (2002).

A native of Coppell, Texas, Thomas led Stanford and ranked in the top five in the Pac-12 in sacks (seven) and tackles for loss (13).

A two-time Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Week (Sept. 26 and Oct. 17), Thomas also led the Cardinal with 36 solo tackles, and tied for the team lead with 55 total tackles.

Thomas and Asiata will be presented their awards at a luncheon at the Washington Athletic Club in Seattle on Jan. 19.

Stanford finished the season 9-3 overall and 6-3 in the Pac-12 to reach the postseason for the eighth straight year. The Cardinal faces North Carolina in the Sun Bowl on Dec. 30. The game will be televised on CBS

— Stanford Athletics

What is democracy worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Stay informed

Get daily headlines sent straight to your inbox.

After experiencing harassment, owner of Zareen's restaurants speaks out about Islamophobia, racism
By Elena Kadvany | 28 comments | 7,473 views

Don't Miss Your Exit (and other lessons from an EV drive)
By Sherry Listgarten | 14 comments | 2,483 views

Goodbye Food Waste!
By Laura Stec | 8 comments | 2,428 views

Premarital and Couples: Tips for Hearing (Listening) and Being Known
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 983 views

Is racism also a local problem?
By Diana Diamond | 25 comments | 782 views


Register today!

‚ÄčOn Friday, October 11, join us at the Palo Alto Baylands for a 5K walk, 5K run, 10K run or half marathon! All proceeds benefit local nonprofits serving children and families.

Learn More