2016 Girls' all-league water polo teams



Most Valuable Player: Julia Santos, Jr, Los Altos

Georgia Lewis
Most Valuable Goalie: Zoe Banks, Jr, Gunn

Most Valuable Field Player: Gabi Matafora Adams, Jr, Mountain View

First Team

Kaitlyn Cook, Sr, Los Gatos

Alison Berg, So, Los Gatos

Lauren Sanders, Jr, Los Gatos

Zoe Sanchez, Sr, Los Gatos

Kate Atherton, Sr, Mountain View

Madison Menard, Jr, Mountain View

Anna Haggart, Sr, Mountain View

Mikaela Wayne, Sr, Gunn

Sylvia Illouz, Sr, Gunn

Veronica Hsu, Sr, Los Altos

Margot Lusinchi, Sr, Los Altos

Sophie Frick, Jr, Palo Alto

Anna Rajaratnam, Sr, Cupertino

June Vanlerberghe, So, Fremont

Emma Brezoczky, Jr, Los Gatos

Sabrina Hall, Jr, Palo Alto

Second Team

Chrissy Steinmieir, Jr, Fremont

Christina Kuliek, So, Los Gatos

Joanna Falla, Sr, Palo Alto

Kelly Sawyer, Jr, Cupertino

Malena Nguyen, So, Mountain View

Cooper McKenna, So, Gunn

Cynthia Yee, So, Los Altos


Most Valuable Goalie: Georgia Lewis (Castilleja) Jr.

Most Valuable Player: Allison Sullivan Wu (Burlingame) Jr.

First Team

Serena Rivera-Korver (Castilleja) Sr.

Jenna Kotcher (Castilleja) Sr.

Maya Srinivasan (Woodside) So.

Mina Sealund (Woodside) Sr.

Annabelle Paris (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.

Marena Kibblewhite (Mercy) Sr.

Megan Olazar (Carlmont) Sr.

Second Team

Madison Lewis (Castilleja) So.

Ella Heald (Woodside) Jr.

Kyra Sheeper (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.

Madeline Maxwell (Menlo-Atherton) Jr.

Annie Bisconti (Menlo) Fr.

Rachel Maxwell (Burlingame) Jr.

Hunter Crawford-Shelmadine (Carlmont) Jr.

Clare Justman (Mercy) Sr.

Honorable Mention

Cassandra Bradley (Mercy) Sr.

Sarah Donato (Menlo) Jr.

Amy Yolland (Carlmont) Jr.

Minhee Chung (Castilleja) Fr.

Ayla Huhn (Menlo-Atherton) Jr.

Kaia Anderson (Woodside) So.

Claire Lei (Burlingame) Jr.



Most Valuable Player: Pascale Tregon (Woodside) Sr.

First Team

Claire Cicchetti (Woodside) Sr.

Jesse Crowley (Woodside) Sr.

Makeila Kamelamela (South SF) Sr.

Katrina Tom (Jefferson) Jr.

Alexa Carreon (San Mateo) Jr.

Meleina O'Rourke (San Mateo) Sr.

Jordan Ramirez (Capuchino) Sr.

Justine Sun (Mills) Sr.

Lexine Francisco (Mills) So.

Dahlia Urrutia (Westmoor) Sr.

Christina Chin (Westmoor) Jr.

Megan Li (El Camino) Jr.

Maddie Remedios (El Camino) Jr.

Second Team

Julie Swedberg (Capuchino) Sr.

Sienna Martinez (Capuchino) Jr.

Jennifer Buja (Woodside) Jr.

Monica Klopp (Woodside) Jr.

Caitlin Lau (Mills) Jr.

Vivian Deng (Mills) Sr.

Jerlene Miller (South SF) Jr.

Annalyn Dela Cruz (Jefferson) Jr.

Emily Savage (San Mateo) So.

Daisy Daranykone (San Mateo) Sr.

Megan Ho (Westmoor) Jr.

Jana Lau (El Camino) Jr.

Honorable mention

Jordan Crevelt (Woodside) Sr.

Katia Kishinsky (Woodside) So.

Melody Shao (San Mateo) Fr.

Jazmine McDonald (San Mateo) Sr.

Mona Moala (Capuchino) Sr.

Charlie Laurenson (Capuchino) So.

Taina Livai (Mills) Sr.

Kellie Rong (Mills) Jr.

Jazlyn Dela Cruz (Jefferson) Fr.

Cindy Dinh (Jefferson) Sr.

Emily Kwong (South SF) Sr.

Florence Tukuaoga (Westmoor) Jr.

Lydia Lee (Westmoor) Fr.

Brittany Primer (El Camino) Jr.



First Team

Maddy Johnston (Sacred Heart Prep) Sr.

Maddie Pendolino (Sacred Heart Prep) Sr.

Layla Waters (Sacred Heart Prep) Sr.

Jane Rakow (Sacred Heart Prep) Sr.

Isabella Mandema (St. Francis) Jr.

Elizabeth DeLong (St. Francis) Sr.

Lauren Dillon (St. Francis) Sr.

Julia Hartmann (St. Francis) Sr.

Cleopatra Constantin (Mitty) Sr.

Molly Teresi (Mitty) Sr.

Nikita Shah (Valley Christian) Sr.

Kaitlin Rooney (Presentation) Jr.

Allison Schaum (St. Ignatius) Sr.

Second Team

Claire Kerrigan (Sacred Heart Prep) Jr.

Nadia Paquin (Sacred Heart Prep) Jr.

Emily Whitney (St. Francis) Sr.

Isabel Ditzler (St. Francis) Jr.

Katie Rose (Mitty) Sr.

Meghan Hall (Mitty) Sr.

Stephanie Chiang (Valley Christian) Jr.

Destiny Barnett (Valley Christian) So.

Alea Grau (Presentation) Sr.

Sophia Chapman (Presentation) Sr.

Phoebe Freitag (St. Ignatius) Sr.

Alex Baumgarten (St. Ignatius) Jr.

Callie Malone (Notre Dame Belmont) Fr.

Michelle Kleytman (Notre Dame Belmont) Jr.

Honorable mention

Lindsey Merrigan (St. Ignatius) Jr.

Amanda Rice (Mitty) Jr.

Emily Roland (Presentation) Sr.


(All-league teams are selected by the coaches)

-- Palo Alto Online Sports

— Palo Alto Online Sports

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Like this comment
Posted by Water Polo Fan
a resident of Portola Valley
on Dec 8, 2016 at 4:28 pm

Perhaps Alea Grau of Presentation (Sr.) should be ALEXA Grau.

3 people like this
Posted by Angry Waterpolo Fan
a resident of Los Altos Hills
on Dec 13, 2016 at 9:42 am

Kara Jacobsen (So.) deserved AT LEAST a second team nomination.

Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Don't be the last to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

First Sunnyvale, then Australia: Mountain View's Le Plonc plots expansion
By Elena Kadvany | 1 comment | 2,480 views

Juggling Renewables
By Sherry Listgarten | 36 comments | 1,992 views

Premarital and Couples: Living as Roommates?
By Chandrama Anderson | 2 comments | 1,438 views

Homestead Faire at Hidden Villa 4/27
By Laura Stec | 2 comments | 802 views

A trial run
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 543 views


Vote now!

It's time once again to cast your vote for the best places to eat, drink, shop and spend time in Palo Alto. Voting is open now through May 27. Watch for the results of our 2019 Best Of contest on Friday, July 19.