Sports

Stanford women to see added TV exposure in Pac-12 play

 

Sixteen games will be televised on Pac-12 Networks and an additional three will be picked up by the ESPN family of network, as the conference schedule and television selections for the 2016-17 Stanford women's basketball season were announced by the Pac-12 on Wednesday.

Stanford made its 18th overall trip to the Elite Eight and 10th in the last 13 years in 2015-16, posting a 27-8 overall record and a 14-4 mark in Pac-12 play.

The Cardinal won 25 games for the 15th straight year and became the seventh Division I institution to reach the 1,000-victory plateau when it beat Oregon State on February 26.

Stanford Director of Women's Basketball Tara VanDerveer enters this season with a 980-225 (.813) record in 37 seasons as a collegiate head coach and is 20 victories shy from joining Pat Summitt as the only NCAA women's basketball coaches with 1,000 career wins.

Highlighting Stanford's previously announced nonconference slate is a pair of matchups against fellow Elite Eight squads from last season in Texas and Tennessee.

The Cardinal hosts the Longhorns on Monday, Nov. 14 at 5 p.m. in a nationally-televised game on ESPN2 that is part of ESPN's ninth annual College Hoops Tip-Off Marathon.

Stanford's storied rivalry with Tennessee adds another chapter on Sunday, Dec. 18 at 3 p.m. ET on SEC Network.

The Cardinal has won five of the last seven meetings between the two schools. The two titans of women's college basketball have played 33 total games and at least once in each of the past 28 seasons.

Stanford's third nonconference tilt picked up for broadcast is its eighth meeting with Gonzaga. The Bulldogs visit Maples on Friday, Nov. 18 at 7 p.m. for a game televised for Pac-12 Networks.

Sixteen of the Cardinal's 18 conference games will also be carried by Pac-12 Networks or ESPN2.

Stanford's Pac-12 slate begins on the road on Friday, Dec. 30 and Sunday, Jan. 1 at Arizona State and Arizona before the Cardinal opens league play at home the following weekend, hosting Oregon on Friday, Jan. 6 and Oregon State on Sunday, Jan. 8.

The Cardinal is at Utah and Colorado on Friday, Jan. 13 and Sunday, Jan. 15 and returns home to wrap up its season series with Arizona and Arizona State on Friday, Jan. 20 and Sunday, Jan. 29. Stanford's two game this season against the Wildcats are the only league matchups not on television.

Stanford plays at Washington State on Friday, Jan. 27 and at Washington on Jan. 29.

In this year's rotation, the Cougars and Huskies do not visit Maples Pavilion while Stanford misses its regular-season trip to USC and UCLA.

The Trojans and Bruins kick off a stretch of four straight at home to start the month of February with USC coming to town on Friday, Feb. 3. UCLA is in the building on Monday, Feb. 6 at 6 p.m. for a Big Monday game on ESPN2. All other league games on TV will be on Pac-12 Networks.

Stanford hosts Colorado (Friday, Feb. 10) and Utah (Sunday, Feb. 12) before its back-to-back with rival Cal, which starts in Berkeley on Thursday, Feb. 16 at 8 p.m. The Bears come to Maples on Sunday, Feb. 19 at 5 p.m.

The regular season wraps up on the road against Oregon State and Oregon on Friday, Feb. 24 and Sunday, Feb. 26.

— Stanford Athletics

Comments

Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

El Camino: Another scheme to increase congestion?
By Douglas Moran | 16 comments | 2,428 views

Couples: Philosophy of Love
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,542 views

Trials of My Grandmother
By Aldis Petriceks | 1 comment | 1,064 views

Lakes and Larders (part 2)
By Laura Stec | 0 comments | 796 views