Woods to miss PGA Championship and the rest of the season


Stanford product Tiger Woods withdrew from the PGA Championship and will sit out the remainder of the PGA Tour season, it was learned Wednesday.

Woods, who has won 14 Majors, has not played in nearly a year as he continues to recover from a series of back surgeries. He'll miss all four Majors in a season for the first time.

The PGA of America issued a statement that read, "We have been in contact with Tiger's agent, Mark Steinberg, and he informed us today that our four-time PGA Champion will be unable to join us at Baltusrol Golf Club next week for the 98th PGA Championship."

Woods last won a major tournament at the US Open in June of 2008 on the Torrey Pines Golf Course, winning in a playoff over Rocco Mediate. He missed the British Open and PGA Championship that year because of a knee injury.

The 11-time PGA Tour Player of the Year, Woods last won an event at the Bridgestone Invitational in August of 2013, his 79th win on the tour, second only to Sam Snead's 82. The 40-year-old was last ranked first in the world in May of 2014.

— Palo Alto Online Sports


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

He said – she said – who is lying? Justice Brett Kavanaugh or PA resident Christine Ford
By Diana Diamond | 67 comments | 2,134 views

Global Warming Diet
By Laura Stec | 6 comments | 1,279 views

Couples: "Taming Your Gremlin" by Richard Carson
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,146 views

Preparing for kindergarten
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 633 views


Pre-registration ends today!

​On Friday, September 21, join us at the Palo Alto Baylands for a 5K walk, 5K run, 10K run, or—for the first time—half marathon! All proceeds benefit local nonprofits serving children and families.

Learn More