Four qualifiers joined the main draw of the Bank of the West Classic


Two American players qualified for the main draw of the 2016 Bank of the West Classic on Sunday, with four total players advancing through the weekend qualifying draw.

Elitsa Kostova started the day defeating Olga Govortsova on stadium court, 6-0, 6-3. Kostova, the second seed in the qualifying draw, received a bye on Saturday before securing her entry into the main draw Sunday morning.

Joining her in the main draw is American Asia Muhammad, who defeated the qualifying draw's top seed Julia Glushko 6-2, 6-3.

Muhammad advanced to Sunday's final round of qualifying after defeating current Stanford sophomore Caroline Lampl, 6-1, 6-0.

Ana Bogdan was the third to qualify for the main draw, beating Yulia Beygelzimer 6-0, 6-3 on the outer court.

Bogdan defeated USC grad Maria Sanchez on Saturday, 6-1, 6-2, in the opening round of qualifying.

Sachia Vickery won the final qualifying match of the weekend draw, defeating fellow American Taylor Townsend 6-2, 6-2.

Vickery beat Yifan Xu on Saturday before upsetting the fourth-seeded Townsend Sunday to qualify for the main draw.

Atherton's CiCi Bellis will play Tuesday night at 7 pm. Venus Williams will play Wednesday at 7 pm, while No. 3 seed Johanna Konta will play in the early session Wednesday.

Thursday will feature No. 2 seed Dominika Cibulkova during the day session and No. 4 seed CoCo Vandeweghe at 7 pm against the winner of Monday's Nicole Gibbs-Carol Zhao match.

The doubles draw for the Bank of the West Classic was also announced Sunday and defending champions Yifan Xu and Saisai Zheng received the top seed in the 16-team field.

Xu and Zheng will open against wildcard entrants Yulia Beygelzimer and Kristyna Pliskova. The pairs of Zinyun Han and Chen Liang, and Johanna Konta and Maria Sanchez round out Xu and Zheng's quarter of the draw.

Third-seeded Darjia Jurak and Anastasia Rodionova took the other top spot on Xu and Zheng's half of the draw and will face Julia Boserup and Elitsa Kostova in the first round.

The pairs of CiCi Bellis and Jennifer Brady, and Kateryna Bondarenko and Olga Savchuk play in the the other match of Jurak and Rodionova's quarter.

The fourth-seeded pair of Anna-Lena Groenefeld and Kveta Peschke will play Veronia Cepede Royg and Maria Irigoyen in the first round.

Misaki Doi and Nao Hibino face Americans Asia Muhammad and Taylor Townsend on the other half of the Groenefeld and Peschke's quarter.

Second-seeded Raquel Atawo and Abigail Spears will face Julia Glushko and Magda Linette in round one.

Local favorites Carol Zhao and Nicole Gibbs, both of whom won national team championships while at Stanford, will face Jelena Ostapenko and Arina Rodionova in the first round.

The Bank of the West Classic, a Premier WTA event, features a 28-player singles draw as well as a 16-team doubles draw. The event is owned and operated by IMG and serves as the opening women's event of the Emirates Airline US Open Series.

The list of past champions of the event reads like a Who's Who of women's tennis including Serena Williams, Lindsay Davenport, Billie Jean King, Chris Evert, Martina Navratilova, Andrea Jaeger, Monica Seles, Martina Hingis, Venus Williams and Kim Clijsters.

Tickets for the Bank of the West Classic are on sale now with individual session tickets starting at just $34.

— Bank of the West Classic

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Be the first to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

If you do nothing else, do These Three Things
By Sherry Listgarten | 43 comments | 2,230 views

Lentil Brownies
By Laura Stec | 5 comments | 664 views

Finding Balance
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 338 views

Reflections on Pal0 Alto's Centennial -- now it's the city's 125th birthday!
By Diana Diamond | 2 comments | 102 views


Vote now!

It's time once again to cast your vote for the best places to eat, drink, shop and spend time in Palo Alto. Voting is open now through May 27. Watch for the results of our 2019 Best Of contest on Friday, July 19.