Stanford grad Logan is Pac-12 Women's Rower of the Century


Stanford grad and U.S. Olympic gold medalist Elle Logan (2007-11) was named the Pac-12 Women's Rower of the Century, the conference announced on Tuesday.

Logan is one of four former Stanford rowers recognized on the Pac-12's 25-person All-Century squad, comprised of standouts from Stanford, California, Oregon State, UCLA, Washington and Washington State. She is joined on the All-Century Team by Grace Luczak (2009-11), Samantha Magee (2003-06) and Sabrina Kolker (1999-2002).

The Pac-12 All-Century Team is part of the conference's centennial celebration. The voting panel, which consisted of former rowers, coaches and members of the media, was highlighted by some of the true authorities in collegiate women's rowing. The All-Century Team has combined to win 19 Olympic medals and has competed in a total of 35 Olympic Games.

Here's a look at Stanford's honorees:

Elle Logan (2007-11)

• Two-time Olympic gold medalist (2008, 2012)

• Captured first gold medal in the United States Women's Eight during the 2008 Olympics in Beijing while an undergraduate at Stanford

• Won second gold medal in the U.S. Women's Eight in the 2012 Olympics in London

• Helped Stanford win first ever NCAA championship.

• Pac-12 Champion in V8+

• Rowed in V8 that set NCAA course record and Pac-12 Championship record at Lake Natoma

• Named 2011 Pac-10 Athlete of the Year

• Four-time CRCA First Team All-American

• One of the most versatile women's rowers in U.S. history: world champion in W8+ in 2010, 2011, 2014 and world Champion in the women's four in 2009

• World Championship bronze medalist in the women's pair in 2015

Grace Luczak (2009-11)

• Won a gold medal at the 2008 Beijing Olympics in the United States Women's V8

• Member of crew that was named "2008 Crew of the Year" by FISA, the World Rowing Federation

• Helped Stanford win the 2009 NCAA Team Championship and V8 NCAA Championship

• Two-Time CRCA All-American at Stanford after rowing at the University of Michigan her freshman year

• Two-time gold medalist in the V8 at the World Rowing Championships (2013 and 2014)

• Part of the United States V8 that set the World Best Time of 5:54.160 at the 2013 World Rowing Cup II

• Won the gold at in the four at the 2014 World Rowing Championships

Samantha Magee (2003-06)

• Olympic silver medalist in W8+ 2004

• World champion in W8+ 2007

• Silver medalist at Junior World Championships in 2001

• Captured a pair of gold medals at the 2004 World Championships in the U.S. W8+

• Helped lead the Cardinal to a No. 1 ranking in the women's eight in 2003 and an NCAA Bronze finish as well as the Cardinal's first ever Pac-10 Championship in 2002

Sabrina Kolker (1999-2002)

• Two-time Olympian for Canada (2004, 2008)

• Led the Cardinal varsity eight to its first-ever Pac-10 Championship in 2002

• Also guided Stanford to a third place finish at the NCAA Championships in 2002

• First-Team CRCA All-America in 2002

• Three-year captain

• Three-time First-Team All-West Region and three-time First-Team All-Pac-10

• Two-time Pac-10 champion (2001 and 2002)

— Stanford Athletics

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Don't be the last to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

Rose International Market reopening soon in Mountain View
By Elena Kadvany | 7 comments | 3,801 views

The trauma of having to renew my California driver’s license
By Diana Diamond | 13 comments | 1,727 views

Eyes and the End of Life: Why Spend Time With the Dying?
By Aldis Petriceks | 2 comments | 1,604 views

Downtown Commercial Cap: Once more into the breach
By Douglas Moran | 4 comments | 1,468 views

Couples: Myth: You Can't Ask Your Partner to Change
By Chandrama Anderson | 2 comments | 1,327 views


Short story writers wanted!

The 33rd Annual Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest is now accepting entries for Adult, Young Adult (15-17) and Teen (12-14) categories. Send us your short story (2,500 words or less) and entry form by March 29. First, Second and Third Place prizes awarded in each category.

Contest Details