Watson, Woods and Rodgers on Pac-12 All-Century golf team


Stanford's Tom Watson, Tiger Woods and Patrick Rodgers were named to the Pac-12 Conference Men's Golf All-Century Team, as announced Monday.

Rodgers, a three-time All-American, was the 2014 Pac-12 individual champion and winner of the Hogan Award, Nicklaus Award and Haskins Award. Rodgers left Stanford with the program's career scoring average record (70.31) and tied Woods with a program-best 11 wins. He was the world's top-ranked amateur in 2014.

Watson was a second-team All-American in 1969, 1970 and 1971. Watson won eight PGA Tour major championships, including five British Opens, two Masters and one U.S. Open. The two-time Ryder Cup captain was awarded the PGA Tour's Payne Stewart Award in 2003. He is a member of the Stanford Hall of Fame and the World Golf Hall of Fame.

In two years at Stanford, Woods was named a first-team All-American in 1995 and 1996. He was the NCAA individual champion in 1996 and in the same season was named the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year. Woods, a two-time Pac-10 Player of the Year and first team All-Pac-10 performer, won the league's individual title in 1996. Since leaving Stanford, his golf career accomplishments are legendary, including 14 major professional championship titles.

The team members were voted on by a panel of 30 consisting of coaches, players, administrators and members of the media.

— Stanford Athletics

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Be the first to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

First Sunnyvale, then Australia: Mountain View's Le Plonc plots expansion
By Elena Kadvany | 1 comment | 2,502 views

Juggling Renewables
By Sherry Listgarten | 41 comments | 2,059 views

Premarital and Couples: Living as Roommates?
By Chandrama Anderson | 2 comments | 1,454 views

Homestead Faire at Hidden Villa 4/27
By Laura Stec | 4 comments | 865 views

A trial run
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 551 views


Vote now!

It's time once again to cast your vote for the best places to eat, drink, shop and spend time in Palo Alto. Voting is open now through May 27. Watch for the results of our 2019 Best Of contest on Friday, July 19.