Stanford's Shaw wins award as nation's top volleyball setter


Stanford senior setter James Shaw opened the men's volleyball season returning to the court from an injury and now ends the year winning the nation's top award for a setter.

Off the Block announced Monday that a nationwide voting committee selected Shaw as the recipient of the 2016 Lloy Ball Award.

The Lloy Ball Award, which is named after the former IPFW All-American and U.S. Olympian setter, is presented to the nation's best setter in NCAA Division I-II men's volleyball during the regular season.

Shaw after missing most of last year with an injury led Stanford in the regular season to a .344 attack percentage, third best in the nation, and was among the national leaders averaging 10.06 assists per game. The senior also had 32 aces and at least five kills in 14 regular season matches to help the Cardinal almost earn an at-large berth to the NCAA Tournament.

Shaw, a 2014 finalist for the Lloy Ball Award, received 16 of the 26 first-place votes from a nationwide voting committee comprised of head coaches and media members.

The top three vote-getters were named finalists for this national award.

Ohio State setter Christy Blough finished in second place receiving four first-place votes and 26 points — almost half as many points as Shaw. In addition, Long Beach State setter Josh Tuaniga came in the third place with 19 points.

This is the third year that Off the Block has presented the Lloy Ball Award. Former USC All-American setter Micah Christenson won the inaugural award in 2014 and Christenson and former Pepperdine All-American setter Matt West were co-winners last year.

The Lloy Ball Award is one of several end of season awards presented by Off the Block. Among the other national awards includes the Karch Kiraly Award to the nation's top outside attacker, the Bryan Ivie Award to the nation's top opposite, the Erik Shoji Award to the nation's top libero, the Ryan Millar Award to the nation's top middle attacker, Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Server of the Year and the Off the Block/Springbak, Inc. National Blocker of the Year.

Off the Block is a national award-winning college men's volleyball website that launched in 2011.

Women's golf

For the 24th consecutive season, Stanford has earned a spot in the NCAA Regional Championships.

The defending national champion Cardinal will host the Stanford Regional at Stanford Golf Course, May 5-7. Eighteen teams and six individuals will participate in one of four regional tournaments to determine the championship field.

The top six teams and three individuals who are not members of the qualifying schools advance to the NCAA Championships, May 20-25 at Eugene Country Club in Eugene, Ore.

— Stanford Athletics/Off the Block


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

El Camino: Another scheme to increase congestion?
By Douglas Moran | 12 comments | 2,139 views

Post-election reflections -- and sponges
By Diana Diamond | 13 comments | 1,690 views

Couples: Philosophy of Love
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,410 views

Trials of My Grandmother
By Aldis Petriceks | 1 comment | 954 views

Lakes and Larders (part 2)
By Laura Stec | 0 comments | 341 views