Stanford's Rosco Allen makes All-Pac-12 first team


Stanford senior Rosco Allen was selected to the All-Pac-12 First Team, the conference announced Monday. The all-conference teams are comprised of a vote by the league's 12 head coaches.

"Rosco has been tremendous for us all season," said Stanford head coach Johnny Dawkins. "As one of our captains, he is a leader for us. He has shown his ability to take over down the stretch in close games when we need him. This is a well-deserved honor for Rosco."

Allen, a science, technology & society major, completed the regular season fifth in the conference in scoring during league action at 16.8 ppg. He was ninth in scoring overall with a team-leading 15.7 ppg. Allen also ranked seventh in the Pac-12 in three-point field goals (1.9 per game) during the regular season.

The forward recorded a three-pointer in 23 consecutive games, before having his streak come to an end at Arizona (March 5). He has averaged 17.9 ppg over his last seven contests. Allen has averaged 13.2 points in the second half alone, over his last five games. He has posted three double-doubles this season, against California, Green Bay and Sacramento State.

Allen has registered seven 20-point games this season, including a career-high 25 each against No. 11 Oregon, Colorado and Arkansas. In the come-from-behind victory over the Razorbacks on Nov. 27, Allen posted 11 of his 25 points in the final 4:27. He scored 24 points, including the game-winning basket with 3.2 seconds remaining, to lift the Cardinal to the victory over Arizona State at home.

Allen's honor marks the fourth straight season Stanford has been represented on the All-Pac-12 First Team. Chasson Randle earned first-team honors in 2015, and Dwight Powell garnered first-team laurels in 2013 and 2014. It's the sixth time in the past seven seasons a Cardinal has earned first-team honors.

Stanford (15-14, 8-10) is the No. 9 seed in the Pac-12 Tournament, and will face eighth-seeded Washington on Wednesday (March 9) at noon in the opening game of the conference tournament at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas.


First Team

Rosco Allen

Ryan Anderson

Andrew Andrews

Dillon Brooks

Jaylen Brown

Elgin Cook

Julian Jacobs

Gary Payton II

Jakob Poeltl

Josh Scott

Second Team

Isaac Hamilton

Dejounte Murray

Ivan Rabb

Kaleb Tarczewski

Gabe York

Honorable Mention

Bryce Alford

Chris Boucher

Josh Hawkinson

Jordan Loveridge

Jordan McLaughlin

Brandon Taylor

Tyrone Wallace


Jaylen Brown

Tyler Dorsey

Dejounte Murray

Ivan Rabb

Allonzo Trier

Honorable Mention: Bennie Boatwright, Marquese Chriss, Tres Tinkle


Chris Boucher

Gary Payton II

Josh Scott

Brandon Taylor

Kaleb Tarczewski

Honorable Mention: Malik Dime, Wesley Gordon, Jakob Poeltl

— Stanford Athletics

What is community worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Like this comment
Posted by Mark Connolly
a resident of College Terrace
on Mar 9, 2016 at 10:34 am

Awesome. ..Bishop Gorman High School!

Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Don't be the last to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

Palo Alto, rejoice. Mike's Cafe is back.
By Elena Kadvany | 5 comments | 2,247 views

Premarital and Couples: Musings on Life
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,591 views

Why we are Warming
By Sherry Listgarten | 30 comments | 1,519 views

Cap On? Cap Off? The Cities Respond
By Laura Stec | 4 comments | 1,258 views

List for a new baby
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 324 views