Three top-20 finishes for Stanford girls in JO polo


The girls from the Stanford Water Polo Club didn't come home with any medals from the National Junior Olympics that wrapped up Sunday in Orange County, but the club did produce three top-20 finishes in the elite Platinum Division of the world's largest water polo tournament.

The 16U A team wrapped up four days of action with a 9-8 victory over SOCAL Gold B at Tustin High. Stanford finished 6-3 while earning 11th place in the Platinum Division.

Team members included Zoe Banks, Katherine Atherton, Lauren Dillon, Madison Higginson, Jenna Kotcher, Isabella Mandema, Nadia Paquin, Madeline Pendolino, Anna Rajaratnam, Allison Sullivan-Wu, Samantha Stebbins, Molly Teresi, Olivia Tobin, Mikaela Wayne.

The 18U A team and 14U A squad, meanwhile, each finished 16th in the Platinum Division.

The 18U squad wrapped up its tourney with a 4-4 mark following an 11-7 loss to Huntington Beach Orange A on Sunday at Capistrano Valley High. Team members included Samantha Acker, Bianca Batista, Susan Cantoni, Kristin Denney, Anna Edgington, Audrey Flower, Malaika Koshy, Emma Malysz, Carmen Steinmeier, Taylor Thorson, Terez Touhey and Natalie Williams.

The 14U A team wrapped up play with a 5-4 mark following a 7-4 loss to San Diego Shores on Sunday at Mater Dei High. Team members for Stanford included Alison Berg, Caroline Casolo, Michelle Fang, Emma Ford, Kara Jacobsen, Christina Kulick, Madison Lewis, Courtney Lindhold, Kate Mallery, Cooper McKenna, Devon Ottinger, Maya Srinivasan, Daphne Crum and Claire Pisani.

In the 16U Classic bracket, Stanford B (4-5) finished 12th in the Silver Division following a 6-4 loss to Bruin at Santa Margarita High. Team members included Claire Billman, Stephanie Chiang, Sarah Donato, Addison Duvall, Anna Fry, Mala Godinez, Alexa Grau, Sabrina Hall, Meghan Hall, Janis Iourovitski, Georgia Lewis, Maddie Maxwell, Madison Menard, Mina Sealund and Christina Steinmeier.

The Stanford 18U B team posted a 9-7 victory over Team Vegas Water Polo at Saddleback College to finish 3-4 and take 17th in the Gold Division. Team members included Emma Allegrucci, Cat Bick, Alissa Caltagirone, Berkeley Cannestra, Alina Drebin, Claire Drebin, Katie Francis, Jenna MacAulay, Madeline Macdonald, Kendall McCarrick, Zoe Smith, Medini Rastogi, Kaitlin Reagan, Clara Romani and Shannon Taliaferro.

The Stanford 14U B team finished 1-6 following a 7-4 loss to Puget Sound Polo at Villa Park High and did not earn a placing. team members included Mike Akashi Grimes, Annie Bisconti, Carly Feng, Celia Fritsch, Nellie McAdams, Sarah Pistorino, Isobel Taylor, Katie Sturtevant, Sarah Villanueva, Bella Bachelor, Meg Reinstra and Eva Brouwer.

In the 10U Co-ed bracket, Stanford outscored Irvine Kuhuna, 10-7, at Foothill High to finish 3-4 and earn seventh place in the Gold Division. Team members included Jordan Affeld, Mehar Atwal, Luke Bachler, Nicholas Borden, Wolfgang Edholm, Michael Fang, Paedrin Gillett, Jackson Key, Tommy Kiesling, Gabriella Lewis, Patrick McCann and Liam Moon.

In the same division, Menlo Park wrapped up a 1-6 showing with a 9-3 loss to United.

— Palo Alto Online Sports

What is democracy worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

All your news. All in one place. Every day.

Contemporary Indian restaurant, Ettan, headed to Palo Alto
By Elena Kadvany | 5 comments | 6,298 views

Premarital and Couples: Tips for Hearing (Listening) and Being Known
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,533 views

Two degrees can do all that?
By Sherry Listgarten | 17 comments | 1,302 views

Is racism also a local problem?
By Diana Diamond | 41 comments | 1,233 views

Tame, Maim and Claim the Wild Sea Vegetable
By Laura Stec | 9 comments | 769 views


Register today!

‚ÄčOn Friday, October 11, join us at the Palo Alto Baylands for a 5K walk, 5K run, 10K run or half marathon! All proceeds benefit local nonprofits serving children and families.

Learn More