Randle, Richards share Stanford's top athletic honor


Chasson Randle (men's basketball) and Jordan Richards (football) were honored as co-recipients of the Al Masters Award at the annual Stanford Athletic Board Awards ceremony, highlighting Stanford's athletic success during the 2014-15 campaign.

Randle is the first Al Masters Award recipient from men's basketball since Mark Madsen in 2000 while Richards becomes the fourth honoree from football over the last six years and first since Andrew Luck in 2012.

It marks the third straight year two student-athletes shared the Al Masters Award, as Chiney Ogwumike (women's basketball) garnered the honor with Mark Appel (baseball) for the 2012-13 season and won alongside Patrick Rodgers (men's golf) in 2013-14.

Overall, 25 varsity programs were represented during the ceremony while 47 student-athletes walked away with awards.

The complete list of award winners, in order of presentation:

Pac-12 Postgraduate Scholarships

Naomi Cornman, women's rowing

Jordan Pratt, football

Thomas Stephens, men's swimming and diving

Ellen Tsay, women's tennis

Pac-12 Tom Hansen Conference Medal Award Winners

Chasson Randle, men's basketball

Kelsey Harbin, field hockey

Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete Award Winners

Naomi Cornman, women's rowing

Luke Lefebure, men's track and field

Chasson Randle, men's basketball

Kaess Smith, men's rowing

Jessica Tonn, women's track and field

NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

Michael Levy, men's gymnastics

Kristina Vaculik, women's gymnastics

Summer Institute for General Management Scholarship for Student-Athletes

Meredith Kalinowski, lacrosse

Wade Morgan, men's basketball

Newly Elected Members of Phi Beta Kappa

Jordan Bryan, wrestling

Michael Levy, men's gymnastics

Samantha Steele, sailing

NCAA Elite 89 Award

B.J. Churnside, men's water polo

Thomas W. Ford Award

Women's Volleyball

Sherry Posthumus Club Sports Team of the Year Award

Climbing Team

Shirley Schoof Club Sports Athlete of the Year Award

Elliott Chartock, ultimate frisbee

Claire Margolis, equestrian

Arthur F. Dauer Memorial Sports Performance Award

Alex Doll, women's soccer

Robert Stineman, men's tennis

Bob Murphy Award

Simone Manuel, women's swimming and diving

Conference Male Athlete of the Year

Hans Henken, sailing

Kristian Ipsen, men's swimming and diving

Maverick McNealy, men's golf

Conference Female Athlete of the Year

Brianna Bain, women's track and field

Madi Bugg, women's volleyball

Dulcie Davies, field hockey

Block S Outstanding Male Freshman

Tom Fawcett, men's tennis

Christian McCaffrey, football

Harrison Williams, men's track and field

Block S Outstanding Female Freshman

Simone Manuel, women's swimming and diving

Elizabeth Price, women's gymnastics

Andi Sullivan, women's soccer

Block S Outstanding Male Sophomore

Akash Modi, men's gymnastics

Jordan Morris, men's soccer

Jim Wilson, wrestling

Block S Outstanding Female Sophomore

Valarie Allman, women's track and field

Lia Neal, women's swimming and diving

Carol Zhao, women's tennis

Block S Outstanding Male Junior

Bret Bonanni, men's water polo

Brian Knott, men's gymnastics

Alex Massialas, fencing

Andrus Peat, football

Block S Outstanding Female Junior

Inky Ajanaku, women's volleyball

Sarah Haase, women's swimming and diving

Ivana Hong, women's gymnastics

Lauren Kim, women's golf

Maggie Steffens, women's water polo

Block S Honors Awards for Men

Luke Pappas, baseball

Block S Honors Awards for Women

Fiona Majeau, women's swimming and diving

Spirit of Stanford Award

Pauline Hanset, women's gymnastics

Jessica Tonn, women's track and field

Dick and Anne Gould Captain's Award

Naomi Cornman, women's rowing

Robert Stineman, men's tennis

Jake Gimbel Award

Michael Levy, men's gymnastics

Garrett Schaner, wrestling

Pam Strathairn Award

Hannah Farr, lacrosse/women's soccer

Ashley Grossman, women's water polo

Biff Hoffman Award

Alex Bowen, men's water polo

David Nolan, men's swimming and diving

Stanford Athletic Board Award

Kelsey Harbin, field hockey

Kiley Neushul, women's water polo

Donald Kennedy Award

Molly McNamara, women's cross country/track and field

Katie Olsen, women's swimming and diving

Al Masters Award

Chasson Randle, men's basketball

Jordan Richards, football

— Stanford Athletics

What is community worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Stay informed

Get daily headlines sent straight to your inbox.

Couple brings Chinese zongzi to Mountain View
By Elena Kadvany | 0 comments | 5,984 views

Don't Miss Your Exit (and other lessons from an EV drive)
By Sherry Listgarten | 9 comments | 1,802 views

Goodbye Food Waste!
By Laura Stec | 4 comments | 1,557 views

"Better" Dads and "Re-invigorated" Moms: Happier Couples
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,210 views

The kindness of strangers
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 507 views


Register today!

‚ÄčOn Friday, October 11, join us at the Palo Alto Baylands for a 5K walk, 5K run, 10K run or half marathon! All proceeds benefit local nonprofits serving children and families.

Learn More