Stanford's McNealy honored as nation's top male golfer


Stanford sophomore Maverick McNealy capped a remarkable season on Monday as the winner of the 2015 Haskins Award, which is given to college golf's top male player.

McNealy, of Portola Valley, is the No. 1 player in the Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings and the second straight Stanford golfer to earn the award after Patrick Rodgers brought home the hardware in 2014.

"It is so humbling to be in the same conversation with the list of winners," said McNealy, who earns an exemption into the 2015 Greenbrier Classic.

McNealy, the Pac-12 Player of the Year, matched Rodgers for second-most wins in a season in Stanford history with six, including victories at the NCAA Chapel Hill Regional and Pac-12 Championships. The pair trails Tiger Woods, who won eight times in 1996. Woods also won the Haskins Award in 1996 as a sophomore.

McNealy has the lowest scoring average in the nation at 68.70.

The Haskins Award is given annually to the best player in college golf, as voted by the players, coaches and media.

The award was presented to McNealy at The Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla., site of the 2015 NCAA Championships.

— Stanford Athletics


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

He said – she said – who is lying? Justice Brett Kavanaugh or PA resident Christine Ford
By Diana Diamond | 69 comments | 6,127 views

Let's Talk Internships
By John Raftrey and Lori McCormick | 1 comment | 959 views

Couples: Sex and Connection (Chicken or Egg?)
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 766 views

Zucchini Takeover
By Laura Stec | 1 comment | 713 views

Populism: A response to the failure of the elites: Palo Alto edition
By Douglas Moran | 0 comments | 289 views