Stanford's McNealy a finalist for the Ben Hogan Award


Stanford sophomore Maverick McNealy was named one of three finalists for The Ben Hogan Award, as announced Wednesday by the Colonial Country Club, Friends of Golf and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

Washington senior Cheng-Tsung Pan and Arizona State junior Jon Rahm are also finalists. It is the first time in the award's history that all three finalists represent one conference.

The three Pac-12 Conference student-athletes will attend a banquet at Colonial Country Club on May 18, prior to the start of the PGA Tour's Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial, where the winner will be crowned. The ceremony will be streamed live on beginning at 6 p.m. (PT).

All three are first-time finalists. For the first time, all three were all born on different continents -- McNealy (North America), Pan (Asia) and Rahm (Europe).

McNealy is the nation's top-ranked college player in both the Golfstat Rankings and the Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings. He leads NCAA Division I with five collegiate victories this year, capped by a dominant 10-stroke win at the Pac-12 Championships last week. His 18-under 262 established a league tournament scoring record.

The Pac-12 Player of the Year previously claimed medalist honors at the Southwestern Intercollegiate, Olympia Fields/Fighting Illini Invitational, The Prestige at PGA West and The Goodwin. A three-time Pac-12 Golfer of the Month, he has been selected to compete this summer on the United States Palmer Cup team.

The native of Portola Valley is listed third in the World Amateur Golf Rankings and 34th in the Scratch Players World Rankings. Last summer, he qualified to compete at both the U.S. Open and U.S. Amateur. Among his top finishes, he tied for ninth at the 2014 Players Amateur.

McNealy is the third different Stanford finalist for the award dating to last year, joining reigning winner Patrick Rodgers and Cameron Wilson.

The 2015 Ben Hogan Award recipient will receive an exemption into the PGA Tour's 2016 Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial, as well as earn a $25,000 grant for its men's golf scholarship program. The other two finalists' schools each will receive grants of $12,500.

The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the 12-month period dating from the previous award's banquet.

Note: McNealy and Stanford teammate Viraat Badhwar, who were medalists in qualifying, were eliminated in Tuesday's morning round of the inaugural U.S. Amateur Four-Ball Championship at the Olympic Club's Lake Course in San Francisco. SMU's team of Brooks Price and Draegen Majors, who graduated two years apart (2012 and 2010, respectively), took down McNealy and Badhwar. Price hit his tee ball at 18 into the left rough, then knocked a 9-iron approach from 140 yards to eight inches at the short, par-4 18th to seal a 1-up victory. He and Majors had come up big down the stretch, making birdies on four of the last six holes to advance.

— Stanford Athletics

What is community worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

All your news. All in one place. Every day.

After experiencing harassment, owner of Zareen's restaurants speaks out about Islamophobia, racism
By Elena Kadvany | 28 comments | 6,399 views

Don't Miss Your Exit (and other lessons from an EV drive)
By Sherry Listgarten | 12 comments | 2,159 views

Goodbye Food Waste!
By Laura Stec | 5 comments | 2,056 views

"Better" Dads and "Re-invigorated" Moms: Happier Couples
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,477 views

The kindness of strangers
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 632 views


Register today!

‚ÄčOn Friday, October 11, join us at the Palo Alto Baylands for a 5K walk, 5K run, 10K run or half marathon! All proceeds benefit local nonprofits serving children and families.

Learn More