Ogwumike, Rodgers share Stanford's top athletic award


Seniors Chiney Ogwumike (women's basketball) and Patrick Rodgers (men's golf) were honored as co-recipients of the Al Masters Award at the annual Stanford Athletic Board Awards ceremony on Thursday afternoon at Bing Concert Hall, highlighting Stanford's athletic success during the 2013-14 campaign.

It was the second straight year two student-athletes shared the Al Masters Award, with Ogwumike recognized alongside Mark Appel (baseball) for the 2012-13 season.

Overall, 31 varsity programs were represented during the ceremony while 57 student-athletes walked away with awards.

The complete list of award winners, in order of presentation.

Pac-12 Postgraduate Scholarships

Noah Garcia, men's swimming and diving

Sara James, women's basketball

Kyle Meyer, wrestling

Courtney Verloo, women's soccer

Pac-12 Tom Hansen Conference Medal Award Winners

Trent Murphy, football

Chiney Ogwumike, women's basketball

Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete Award Winners

Ali Fauci, women's rowing

Austin Hack, men's rowing

Chiney Ogwumike, women's basketball

Dwight Powell, men's basketball

Ben Rhyne, football

Tyler Stutzman, men's cross country

NCAA Postgraduate Scholarship

Hope Burke, field hockey

Summer Institute for General Management Scholarship for Student-Athletes

Daniel Ho, men's tennis

Ryan Mango, wrestling

Newly Elected Members of Phi Beta Kappa

Daphne Martschenko, women's rowing

Daniel McHugh, fencing

Shona Morgan, women's gymnastics

NCAA Elite 89 Award

Matt Aiello, men's volleyball

Erica Payne, women's basketball

Honda Award

Felicia Lee, women's swimming and diving

Thomas W. Ford Award

Women's Volleyball

Sherry Posthumus Club Sports Team of the Year Award

Women's Rugby

Shirley Schoof Club Sports Athlete of the Year Award

Eirik Ravnan, triathlon

Nicole Richardson, women's rugby

Arthur F. Dauer Memorial Sports Performance Award

Kiley Neushul, women's water polo

James Shaw, men's volleyball

Bill Walsh Leadership Award

Dwight Powell, men's basketball

Bob Murphy Award

Drew Hutchins, men's soccer

Conference Male Athlete of the Year

Kristian Ipsen, men's swimming and diving

Akash Modi, men's gymnastics

David Nolan, men's swimming and diving

Dan Scherer, wrestling

David Yankey, football

Conference Female Athlete of the Year

Aisling Cuffe, women's cross country/track and field

Hannah Farr, lacrosse

Kelsey Harbin, field hockey

Courtney Verloo, women's soccer

Block S Outstanding Male Freshman

Drew Holland, men's water polo

Jordan Morris, men's soccer

Cal Quantrill, baseball

Jim Wilson, wrestling

Block S Outstanding Female Freshman

Valarie Allman, women's track and field

Nicolette McNair, women's gymnastics

Lia Neal, women's swimming and diving

Carol Zhao, women's tennis

Block S Outstanding Male Sophomore

Bret Bonanni, men's water polo

Alex Massialas, fencing

Steven Solomon, men's track and field

Block S Outstanding Female Sophomore

Lauren Kim, women's golf

Vivian Kong, fencing

Maggie Steffens, women's water polo

Amy Weissenbach, women's track and field

Block S Outstanding Male Junior

Alex Blandino, baseball

Alex Bowen, men's water polo

John Hochstatter, baseball

Ty Montgomery, football

Chasson Randle, men's basketball

Block S Outstanding Female Junior

Kiley Neushul, women's water polo

Katie Olsen, women's swimming and diving

Amber Orrange, women's basketball

Kristina Vaculik, women's gymnastics

Block S Honors Awards for Men

Daniel McHugh, fencing

Block S Honors Awards for Women

Ali Fauci, women's rowing

Dick and Anne Gould Captain's Award

Donovan Halpin, wrestling

Lexie Ross, women's water polo

Jake Gimbel Award

Josh Huestis, men's basketball

Shayne Skov, football

Pam Strathairn Award

Kristie Ahn, women's tennis

Felicia Lee, women's swimming and diving

Carly Wopat, women's volleyball

Donald Kennedy Award

Austin Hack, men's rowing

Daphne Martschenko, women's rowing

Spirit of Stanford Award

Mariah Stackhouse, women's golf

Biff Hoffman Award

Brian Cook, men's volleyball

Tyler Gaffney, football

Trent Murphy, football

Cameron Wilson, men's golf

Stanford Athletic Board Award

Maya DiRado, women's swimming and diving

Annika Dries, women's water polo

Yuri Namikawa, sailing

Al Masters Award

Chiney Ogwumike, women's basketball

Patrick Rodgers, men's golf

— Stanford Athletics

What is community worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

All your news. All in one place. Every day.

Contemporary Indian restaurant, Ettan, headed to Palo Alto
By Elena Kadvany | 5 comments | 6,299 views

Premarital and Couples: Tips for Hearing (Listening) and Being Known
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,535 views

Two degrees can do all that?
By Sherry Listgarten | 17 comments | 1,303 views

Is racism also a local problem?
By Diana Diamond | 41 comments | 1,234 views

Tame, Maim and Claim the Wild Sea Vegetable
By Laura Stec | 9 comments | 770 views


Register today!

‚ÄčOn Friday, October 11, join us at the Palo Alto Baylands for a 5K walk, 5K run, 10K run or half marathon! All proceeds benefit local nonprofits serving children and families.

Learn More