Stanford's Lee wins Honda Sports Award for swimming


Stanford senior Felicia Lee was named the Honda Sports Award winner for swimming & diving on Thursdy. With the honor, Lee becomes a finalist for the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year and the prestigious 2014 Honda Cup.

The Honda Sports Award is presented annually by the CWSA to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA- sanctioned sports and signifies "the best of the best in collegiate athletics."

Lee was chosen by a vote of administrators from over 1,000 NCAA member schools. Finalists included Lee's teammate and Pac-12 Swimmer of the Year Maya DiRado, Olympic gold medalist Missy Franklin (California), 2012 Olympian Breeja Larson (Texas A&M) and Brittany MacLean (Georgia).

"I'm truly honored to be receiving the Honda Sports Award this year," said Lee. "It has been a special year for Stanford swimming and diving and it's important to recognize that it's not really just an award for me; it's for my coaches, my teammates, my parents, and everyone who has helped me along the way to get here. I couldn't be more thrilled to have been able to represent Stanford and win the award for my school."

Head coach Greg Meehan, whose Stanford program produced two finalists for the first time since 2010, echoed Lee.

"We are honored that we had two members of the program nominated for the award this year in Maya DiRado and Felicia Lee, along with the other three outstanding candidates," said the second-year head coach. "We're thrilled that Felicia is being awarded the Honda Award and grateful to the administrators for recognizing the incredible work that Felicia did this year."

Lee (Wayne, N.J./Towson HS (Md.)) earned seven All-America honors at the 2014 NCAA championships while capturing five NCAA titles. She finished first in the 100 fly and with relay teams in the 200 and 400 free and the 200 and 400 medley. Her effort in the 400 medley relay helped the Cardinal to an American record.

"What she did extends beyond the NCAA championships," Meehan pointed out. "She was tremendous for us from the first meet of the season through the last."

Overall, she has been a part of -- either individually or in a relay -- four school records, three Avery Aquatic Center records, two Pac-12 titles and finished her career with 19 All-America accolades. The human biology major was also a two-time Pac-12 Swimmer of the Month for the months of November and January this season.

Nine members of the Cardinal women's swimming and diving team have claimed the award 11 times since its inception in 1976-77. Stanford

Five Honda Sports Awards winners for swimming & diving have gone on to win the prestigious Honda Cup -- Tara Kirk (Stanford, 2004), Cristina Teuscher (Columbia, 2000), Mary T. Meagher (Cal Berkeley, 1987), Tracy Caulkins (Florida, 1984 &1982) and Jill Sterkel (Texas, 1981).

The Collegiate Women Sports Awards has honored the nation's top NCAA women athletes for 37 years, recognizing superior athletic skills, leadership, academic excellence and eagerness to participate in community service.

Collegiate Women Sports Award Winners

2013-14 -- Felicia Lee, Stanford University

2012-13 -- Allison Schmitt, University of Georgia

2011-12 -- Caitlin Leverenz, University of California

2010-11 -- Katinka Hosszu, University of Southern California

2009-10 -- Julia Smit, Stanford University

2008-09 -- Dana Vollmer, University of California

2007-08 -- Caroline Burckle, University of Florida

2006-07 -- Kara Lynn Joyce, University of Georgia

2005-06 -- Mary DeScenza, University of Georgia

2004-05 -- Kirsty Coventry, Auburn University

2003-04 -- Tara Kirk, Stanford University

2002-03 -- Natalie Coughlin, University of California

2001-02 -- Natalie Coughlin, University of California

2000-01 -- Misty Hyman, Stanford University

1999-00 -- Cristina Teuscher, Columbia University

1998-99 -- Martina Moravcova, Southern Methodist University

1997-98 -- Misty Hyman, Stanford University

1996-97 -- Kristine Quance, University of Southern California

1995-96 -- Kristine Quance, University of Southern California

1994-95 -- Jenny Thompson, Stanford University

1993-94 -- Nicole Haislette, University of Florida

1992-93 -- Janel Jorgensen, Stanford University

1991-92 -- Summer Sanders, Stanford University

1990-91 -- Leigh Ann Fetter, University of Texas

1989-90 -- Janet Evans, Stanford University

1988-89 -- Jenna Johnson, Stanford University

1987-88 -- Betsy Mitchell, University of Texas

1986-87 -- Mary T. Meagher, University of California

1985-86 -- Jenna Johnson, Stanford University

1984-85 -- Mary T. Meagher, University of California

1983-84 -- Tracy Caulkins, University of Florida

1982-83 -- Tracy Caulkins, University of Florida

1981-82 -- Tracy Caulkins, University of Florida

1980-81 -- Jill Sterkel, University of Texas

1979-80 -- Jill Sterkel, University of Texas

1978-79 -- Joan Pennington, University of Texas

1977-78 -- Renee Laravie, University of Florida

1976-77 -- Melissa Belote, Arizona State University

— Stanford Athletics


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Burger chain Shake Shack to open in Palo Alto
By Elena Kadvany | 16 comments | 4,114 views

The Cost of Service
By Aldis Petriceks | 1 comment | 943 views

One-on-one time
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 363 views

Couples: When Wrong Admit It; When Right; Shut Up
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 349 views

This time we're not lying. HONEST! No, really!
By Douglas Moran | 1 comment | 267 views