Paly's Chryst leads way on All-SCVAL De Anza Division team


Senior quarterback Keller Chryst will lead the Palo Alto football team into the semifinals of the Central Coast Section Division II playoffs as the co-Most Valuable Player of the SCVAL De Anza Division this season.

Chryst completed 135 of 209 passes for 2,387 yards and 26 touchdowns with just six interceptions in 10 games. He was 15 of 19 for 271 yards and five TDs last week as the Vikings (6-5) opened the postseason with a 54-24 drubbing of Leland.

In addition to Chryst, Palo Alto had senior Tully McCalister named the Outstanding Tight End, senior Andrew Frick was named Outstanding Inside Linebacker, running back Malcolm Davis was co-Senior of the Year and wide receiver Eli Givens was Sophomore of the Year.


Co-Most Valuable Players: Keller Chryst (Palo Alto Sr. QB and Delshawn Mitchell (Wilcox) Sr. RB

MVP Offense: Squally Canada (Milpitas) Sr. RB

MVP Defense: Sione Finefeuiaki (Wilcox) Sr. LB

MVP Lineman: Jimmy Leatiota (Wilcox) Sr. OL

Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Vita Musika (Milpitas) Jr.

Outstanding Defensive Lineman: Jason Scrempos (Milpitas) Jr.

Outstanding Quarterback: Jonathan Walters (Saratoga) Sr.

Outstanding Running Back: Joey Wood (Los Gatos) Jr.

Outstanding Wide Receiver: Tre Hartley (Milpitas) Sr.

Outstanding Tight End: Tully McCalister (Palo Alto) Sr.

Outstanding Inside Linebacker: Andrew Frick (Palo Alto) Sr.

Outstanding Outside Linebacker: Benito Serrano (Wilcox) Sr.

Outstanding Defensive Back: Cory Olivet (Los Gatos) Sr.

Outstanding Utility: Anthony Avery (Mountain View)

Outstanding Kicker: Logan Chapman (Los Gatos) Sr.

Co-Senior of the Year: Malcolm Davis (Palo Alto) WR/DB and Kenny Dipko (Wilcox) QB

Junior of the Year: Solomon Foketi (Milpitas) LB

Sophomore of the Year: Eli Givens (Palo Alto) WR

First Team

Quarterback: Ronnie Reed (Milpitas) Sr.; Nick Bawden (Los Gatos) Sr.

Running Back: Savion Black (Milpitas) Jr.; Isiah Jackson (Mountain View); Jacob Marr (Saratoga) Sr.; Keneen Smith (Santa Clara) Sr.; Devaunte Sanches (Fremont) Jr.

Wide Receiver: Christian Rita (Milpitas) Jr.; Keensean Johnson (Palo Alto) Sr.; Austin Johnson (Mountain View); Grant Faylor (Saratoga) Sr.; Joey Mederios (Saratoga( Jr.; Dominick Bailey (Wilcox) Sr.

Tight End: Frank Kapp (Mountain View); Jake Kenney (Wilcox) So.; Cody Marshal (Los Gatos) Sr.

Offensive Line: Mikey Saybe (Milpitas) Sr.; Uate Mataele (Milpitas) Jr.; Christian Haangana (Milpitas) So.; Jack Anderson (Palo Alto) Sr.; Justin Rittman (Palo Alto) Sr.; Afa Prescott (Fremont) Jr.; Clark Rothenberg (Saratoga) Sr.; Jonathan Herrera (Wilcox) Jr.; Jack Jarigan (Los Gatos) Jr.; Andrew Hillard (Los Gatos) Sr.; Brandon Ross (Los Gatos) Sr.

Defensive Back: Ken Wu (Saratoga); David Kruskamp (Milpitas) Sr.; Duane Jones (Milpitas) Jr.; Joey Mederios (Saratoga) Jr.; Manu Turituri (Wilcox) So.; Cory Barraclough (Wilcox) Sr.; Cole Wisecarver (Los Gatos) Sr.; Matthew Wilcox (Los Gatos) Jr.

Linebacker: Cole Poffenbarger (Milpitas) Jr.; Jake Butters (Mountain View); Sam Kanongata (Fremont) Jr.; Davis Berryhill (Saratoga) Sr.; Jake Tittle (Los Gatos) Sr.; Cameron Ackerman (Los Gatos) Sr.

Defensive Line: Sii Mataele (Milpitas) So.; Mike Fitzsimmons (Saratoga) Sr.; Justin Wright (Wilcox) Sr.; Jonathon Pohaha (Wilcox) Jr.; Bailey McNally (Los GAtos) Sr.; CJ Hibbits (Los Gatos) Jr.; Brendan Ross (Los Gatos) Jr.; Nikita Klochko (Santa Clara) Sr.

Utility: Jacob Camp (Santa Clara); Adam Garza (Santa Clara)

Kicker: Leo Hernandez (Santa Clara) Sr.


Co-Most Valuable Players: Derek Rositas (Homestead) Sr. RB/LB and Justin Cena (Monta Vista) Sr. RB/LB

MVP Offense: Ryan Allenmandi (Homestead) Jr. RB

Co-MVP Defense: Faris Karaborni (Monta Vista) Sr. LB and Tijani Karaborni (Monta Vist) Sr. LB

MVP Lineman: Ofisa Pati (Los Altos) Sr.

Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Kyle Barry (Monta Vista) Sr.

Outstanding Defensive Lineman: Joseph Chang (Lynbrook) Sr.

Outstanding Quarterback: Jerome Holloway (Homestead) So.

Outstanding Running Back: Sean Lanoza (Los Altos) Jr.

Outstanding Wide Receiver: Victor Puiz (Los Altos) Sr.

Outstanding Tight End: Max Wilber (Los Altos) Sr.

Co-Outstanding Defensive End: Sam Nastari (Monta Vista Jr. and Dakota Kratzer (Los Altos) Sr.

Outstanding Outside Linebacker: Dietrich Sweat (Gunn) Jr.

Outstanding Inside Linebacker: David Park (Cupertino) Sr.

Outstanding Defensive Back: Jonathan Chang (Lynbrook) Jr.

Outstanding Senior: Christopher Lanman (Los Altos) QB

Outstanding Junior: Max McCann (Monta Vista) RB/LB

Outstanding Sophomore: Anthony Pozzetti (Cupertino) QB/DB

Outstanding Freshman: Tonga Keti (Los Altos) OL/DL

First Team

Quarterback: Ryan Manley (Monta Vista)

Running Back: Tim Cheng (Homestead) Sr.; Jason Larsh (Lynbrook) Sr.; Sean Lydster (Gunn) Sr.

Wide Receiver: Nathan Duong (Cupertino) Sr.; Bryan Erickson (Homestead) Sr.; Patrick McColl (Los Altos) Jr.

Tight End: Joseph faria (Homestead) Jr.; Dylan Schultz (Cupertino) Jr.

Offensive Line: Jessie Arreola (Cupertino) Sr.; Noe Barajas (Homestead) Jr.; Nolan Hurtado (Monta Vista) Jr.; Fred Li (Gunn) Jr.; Tristian Salvador (Monta Vista) Sr.; Aaron Siminson (Lynbrook) Sr.; Michael Strahan (Cupertino) Sr.; Josh Williams (Los Altos) Sr.

Defensive Back: Kyle Avvakumovits (Cupertino) Jr.; Mateo Manjarrez (Homestead) Sr.; Justin Miller (Homestead) Jr.; Milanko Plavsic (Monta Vista) Sr.; John Rak (Homestead) Jr.

Inside Linebacker: David Almas (Homestead) Sr.; Carlo Isola (Lynbrook) Sr.; Forrest Larson (Gunn) Jr.; Duke Myers (Los Altos) Sr.

Outside Linebacker: Max Chiew (Gunn) Jr.; Justin Marengo (Homestead) Sr.; Alex Zee (Lynbrook) Sr.

Defensive End: Julian Arndt (Lynbrook) Sr.; Won Lee (Monta Vista) Sr.

Defensive Line: Jake ACervantes (Homestead) Jr.; Justin Cheng (Cupertino) Sr.; Daniel Grinberg (Lynbrook) Jr.; Thomas Holm (Homestead) Sr.; Anthony Tung (Cupertino) Sr.

Utility: Eric Day (Lynbrook) Sr.

Kicker: Matt Schonher (Los Altos) Jr.

All-league teams selected by the coaches

— Palo Alto Online Sports

What is democracy worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

All your news. All in one place. Every day.

Su Hong Palo Alto's last day of business will be Sept. 29
By Elena Kadvany | 12 comments | 4,274 views

Electric Buses: Challenges and Opportunities
By Sherry Listgarten | 22 comments | 2,667 views

Troubling safety issues in our fair city
By Diana Diamond | 16 comments | 1,307 views

Natural Wines?
By Laura Stec | 1 comment | 848 views

Premarital, Women Over 50 Do Get Married
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 801 views


Register now!

On Friday, October 11, join us at the Palo Alto Baylands for a 5K walk, 5K run, 10K run or half marathon! All proceeds benefit local nonprofits serving children and families.

More Info