New supervisorial districts split Menlo Park


The San Mateo County Board of Supervisors has approved new boundaries for supervisorial districts that will split Menlo Park into two districts.

The area of Menlo Park mostly west of El Caminio Real will be in District 3 and the rest of the city will be in District 4.

A staff report for the board states: "One often-mentioned community of interest request at the Committee hearings was to keep East Palo Alto, eastern Menlo Park, North Fair Oaks, and the bordering areas of Redwood City united in one district. All plans keep these areas united in District 4."

Adopted unanimously by the board on Tuesday, the new map will govern elections for two board seats up for election in 2014: Districts 2 and 3.

The county described the new boundaries this way in a press release:

District 1: 147,020 residents: Millbrae, Burlingame, Hillsborough and the unincorporated San Mateo Highlands along with 71.9 percent of South San Francisco (mostly east of Junipero Sera Boulevard) and 74.6 percent of San Bruno (south of Sneath Lane and west of Interstate 280).

District 2: 151,033 residents: San Mateo, Foster City and 79.1 percent of Belmont.

District 3: 151,121 residents: Atherton, San Carlos, Pacifica, Half Moon Bay, Woodside, Portola Valley and 41.1 percent of Menlo Park (mostly west of El Camino) and the unincorporated communities of Emerald Lake Hills along with the coastside.

District 4: 142,903 residents: Redwood City, East Palo Alto and 58.9 percent of Menlo Park along with the unincorporated community of North Fair Oaks.

District 5: 143,991 residents: Brisbane, Colma, Daly City, 25.4 percent of San Bruno (northwest section of the city) and 28.1 percent of South San Francisco (west of Junipero Serra Boulevard) along with unincorporated Broadmoor.

"The map we selected takes into account the public input we received from every corner of San Mateo County," said Don Horsley, president of the Board of Supervisors, in the press release. "We heard from many interests and we are pleased that we were able to select a map that limited the number of cities that would be divided while at the same time uniting communities."

An advisory committee had recommended that the board consider maps called "Community Unity" and "Equity." The adopted map, called "Community Unity B," is a blend of the two maps, "adopting the recommendations of the 'Equity' coalition in the North County and the 'Community Unity' coalition in the South County," the press release said.

The new map divides these cities between districts: Belmont (Districts 2 and 3), Menlo Park (Districts 3 and 4), San Bruno (Districts 1 and 5) and South San Francisco (Districts 1 and 5). (Belmont, South San Francisco and Redwood City were divided between districts in the existing map.)

The new map unifies Redwood City (the Redwood Shores area was in a separate district in the existing map).


Like this comment
Posted by RS
a resident of Menlo Park
on Oct 23, 2013 at 9:54 am

Can we see the new map online?

Like this comment
Posted by Dave Olson
a resident of another community
on Oct 24, 2013 at 10:57 am

The earlier maps are on Web Link, I haven't found the actual adopted map yet.

Like this comment
Posted by Christopher L. Bowman
a resident of another community
on Oct 24, 2013 at 12:34 pm

The Map is Community Unity B or CU B, and is posted on the Board of Supervisor's website under redistricting.

Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Nobu Palo Alto eyes next-door expansion
By Elena Kadvany | 4 comments | 3,133 views

Are We Really Up To This?
By Aldis Petriceks | 3 comments | 1,713 views

Joe Simitian talk: Listening to Trump's America: Bridging the Divide
By Douglas Moran | 31 comments | 1,055 views

Couples: Cultivate Love, Gottman Style
By Chandrama Anderson | 1 comment | 478 views

It's contagious
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 115 views