Ogwumike named to two more All-American teams


Stanford senior forward Nnemkadi Ogwumike is well on her way to be a consensus All-American in basketball after being named to the USBWA and John R. Wooden Award teams on Wednesday.

Ogwumike now has been named to three All-America teams in just two days. Tuesday she was unanimously voted to the Associated Press All-America first team, while younger sister Chiney was named to the second team.

Wednesday's selections also make Ogwumike a three-time USBWA (2010-12) and John R. Wooden Award (2010-12) All-American.

Ogwumike and Stanford (35-1) head to the program's fifth straight Final Four this weekend, putting the Cardinal's program-record 32-game winning streak on the line against Baylor on Sunday at 6 p.m. in the Pepsi Center in Denver.

The 2011-12 season that Ogwumike has put together is one of the most, if not the most, dominant in Stanford history. The Cypress, Texas native was named Pac-12 Player of the Year for the second time in her career, as well as the Most Outstanding Player of both the Pac-12 Tournament and Fresno Regional.

She enters Sunday's national semifinal averaging 22.5 points and 10.3 rebounds a game with shooting percentages of 55.4 from the field and 83.1 from the free-throw line. Over Stanford's four NCAA Tournament wins she has averaged 28.0 points, 8.5 rebounds and 2.11 assists and shot 65.1 percent from the field and 82.9 percent from the line.

Already this year Ogwumike holds the holds the highest single-season scoring average (22.5) in school history and on Monday night tied Candice Wiggins' scoring record with 787 points.

She is also a consensus national player of the year finalist, in contention for the Wade Trophy, John R. Wooden Award, Naismith Trophy, and national player of the year awards of the Associated Press and USBWA.

Ogwumike was joined on the USBWA All-America Team by Elena Delle Donne (Delaware), Skylar Diggins (Notre Dame), Chelsea Gray (Duke), Brittney Griner (Baylor), Shenise Johnson (Miami), A'dia Mathies (Kentucky), Samantha Prahalis (Ohio State), Odyssey Sims (Baylor) and Alyssa Thomas (Maryland).

The John R. Wooden Award All-America Team consisted of Ogwumike, Delle Donne, Diggins, Griner and Wisconsin-Green Bay's Julie Wojta.

The USBWA will announce its National Player of the Year on April 3, while the John R. Wooden Award will be announced Friday, April 6 in Los Angeles.

— Stanford Sports Information


Like this comment
Posted by Bruiser
a resident of another community
on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:34 am

Guess what happened when the bear invited the
cardinal to dinner?

Like this comment
Posted by Sylvia
a resident of Midtown
on Mar 29, 2012 at 11:46 am

Great article. It's such a joy to watch the Cardinal women play basketball and Nneka is just an amazing human being as well as an amazing athlete.

Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Burger chain Shake Shack to open in Palo Alto
By Elena Kadvany | 16 comments | 4,140 views

The Cost of Service
By Aldis Petriceks | 1 comment | 946 views

Couples: When Wrong Admit It; When Right; Shut Up
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 373 views

One-on-one time
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 368 views

This time we're not lying. HONEST! No, really!
By Douglas Moran | 3 comments | 321 views