Stanford's Luck is runner-up again in Heisman


Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck finished as the Heisman runner-up on Saturday for the second consecutive year as the Cardinal program has produced the Heisman runner-up in each of the last three seasons.

Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III, sporting 'Superman' socks for the occasion, was awarded the trophy as winner of the 2011 award and joined 23 former winners on stage at the Best Buy Theatre in Times Square on Saturday in New York City.

"Sure I'm disappointed; I am a competitor," Luck said. "But at the same time, you can't take anything away from the season Robert (Griffin III) had. He was outstanding and very deserving of the award."

Griffin, a flashy player with a golden smile, finished with 1,687 points and 405 first-place votes, while Luck accumulated 1,407 points and 247 first place votes.

The rest of the five finalists were Trent Richardson from Alabama with 978 points (138 first place votes), Montee Ball from Wisconsin with 348 votes (22 first place) and LSU's Tyrann Mathieu with 327 points (34 first place).

In an analysis of regional voting, Griffin dominated the south (Richardson's home territory) while Luck drew competition from USC's Matt Barkley, Boise State's Kellen Moore, Houston's Case Keenum and Oregon's LeMichael James in the west.

Griffin won four of the five regions while Luck won the Far West, where Griffin finished second. Luck was second in three regions and third in the south.

"I'll get over it," Luck said. "I am excited to get back to work and prepare for the Fiesta Bowl."

Luck passed for a single-season record 35 touchdowns this season, with nine interceptions, completing 70 percent of his passes for the Fiesta Bowl-bound Cardinal. For the nation's top red -zone offense, Luck competed 73 percent of his passes and had 28 touchdowns inside the red zone.

"He's a special kid," said ESPN's Lee Corso during the awards ceremony. "What is most impressive is his 26 TD's and no interceptions in the red zone. When the Cardinal needed him, he did it. He's a great player."

For Stanford, it is the 13th year in which the program has been a part of the voting, joining: Frankie Albert (3rd, 1940), Norman Standlee (9th, 1940), Bill McColl (4th, 1951), Bobby Garrett (5th, 1953), John Brodie (7th, 1956), Jim Plunkett (winner, 1970), Guy Benjamin (7th, 1977), Darrin Nelson (6th, 1981), John Elway (2nd, 1982), Glyn Milburn (9th, 1992), Toby Gerhart (2nd, 2009), Owen Marecic (10th, 2010) and Luck (2nd, 2010 and 2011).

Plunkett, who won the award in 1970, remains the only winner from Stanford.

The Cardinal became the first school in Heisman history to produce three consecutive Heisman Trophy runners-ups, with Gerhart in 2009 and Luck in 2010 and 2011.

"To be back here two years in a row is a tremendous honor for myself and Stanford," Luck said.

Barkley finished sixth in the voting, receiving 11 first-place votes, followed by Keenum in seventh, Moore in eighth and James in tenth.

— Stanford Sports Information

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Be the first to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

Rose International Market reopens in Mountain View
By Elena Kadvany | 11 comments | 5,762 views

The HSR Decision
By Steve Levy | 8 comments | 1,319 views

We need a new garage downtown Palo Alto -- forget about being politically correct
By Diana Diamond | 7 comments | 1,199 views

The Other Greenhouse Gas
By Sherry Listgarten | 2 comments | 1,058 views

Know Before You Buy: Understanding Senior Living Facility Agreements
By Max Greenberg | 0 comments | 649 views


Short story writers wanted!

The 33rd Annual Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest is now accepting entries for Adult, Young Adult (15-17) and Teen (12-14) categories. Send us your short story (2,500 words or less) and entry form by March 29. First, Second and Third Place prizes awarded in each category.

Contest Details