More postseason honors for Luck, Stanford football players


Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck won two awards Thursday. He was named the Walter Camp Player of the Year and his offensive linemen Jonathan Martin and David DeCastro joined him on the first team in the afternoon.

In the evening, Luck won the Maxwell Trophy for Most Outstanding Player.

Luck becomes the first Stanford quarterback since Jim Plunkett, in 1970, to receive both awards and the eighth Pac-12 player to win the Camp award and seventh to win the Maxwell Trophy.

Luck is also the third Stanford quarterback to be a first-team selection, joining Plunkett and John Elway (1982). It is also the first time that three Stanford players have been first-team selections and first time for the Pac-12 since USC in 2005.

"Andrew's poise, leadership, and consistency have been trademarks of the Cardinal's outstanding 2011 season," Foundation President John Marks said.

Also on Thursday, Luck was named CoSIDA's Academic All-American of the Year for Football, carrying a 3.48 GPA as an architectural design major. He will be presented with the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award in Baltimore on Friday night.

Luck, a finalist for the Davey O'Brien Award (Baylor's Robert Griffin III won it), led the Pac-12 and ranked fifth nationally with a 167.50 pass efficiency rating. He threw for Stanford single-season record 35 touchdowns, had nine interceptions and completed 70 percent of his passes.

Due in part to DeCastro and Martin, Luck was sacked just nine times in 2011 and 21 times in his three-year career with his fellow redshirt juniors at his side.

The Cardinal rushed for an average of 207.9 yards per game, No. 22 nationally. The team also averaged 43.6 points per game, fifth-best in the nation.

DeCastro was also up for the Outland Trophy, which was won by Alabama's Barrett Jones. DeCastro has been named a first team All-American by the Walter Camp, CBS Sports and AFCA.

Martin was a finalist for the Lombardi Award (won by Boston College linebacker Luke Kuechly), and only offensive linemen amongst the finalists.

TCU's Davey O'Brien won the Maxwell trophy in 1938. The award named for him was first presented in 1981.

— Palo Alto Online Sports

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Be the first to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

Rose International Market reopening soon in Mountain View
By Elena Kadvany | 11 comments | 5,666 views

The HSR Decision
By Steve Levy | 8 comments | 1,283 views

We need a new garage downtown Palo Alto -- forget about being politically correct
By Diana Diamond | 7 comments | 1,173 views

Couples: Mirror, Mirror on the . . . Fight?!
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,010 views

Know Before You Buy: Understanding Senior Living Facility Agreements
By Max Greenberg | 0 comments | 626 views


Short story writers wanted!

The 33rd Annual Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest is now accepting entries for Adult, Young Adult (15-17) and Teen (12-14) categories. Send us your short story (2,500 words or less) and entry form by March 29. First, Second and Third Place prizes awarded in each category.

Contest Details