Section champ SHP well-represented on All-CCS


Five players who competed in the Central Coast Section Division II boys' water polo championship match for Sacred Heart Prep and Los Altos have been named to the 2011 All-CCS Division II team.

The champion Gators are represented by sophomore Harrison Enright, junior Michael Holloway and junior goalie Will Runkel, while the runner-up Knights placed seniors Matt Orton and Adam Warmoth on the First Team.

Each school had two players named to the second team, in a vote of the CCS coaches.



Most Valuable Player: Mitchell Hamilton (Bellarmine) Sr.

First Team

Peter Simon (St. Francis) Sr.; Matt Godar (Bellarmine) Sr.; Patrick Goodenough (St. Francis) Sr.; Aaron Lim (Mountain View) Sr.; Cory McGee (St. Francis) Jr.; Chase Schaaf (Bellarmine) Sr.; Jacob Ley (Leland) Sr.; Aaron Zelinger (Palo Alto) Sr.; David Petroni (Bellarmine) Sr. goalie

Second Team

Max Wilder (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.; Evin Wieser (Los Gatos) Sr.; Joey Wall (Bellarmine) Sr.; Paul Swellman (Serra) Sr.; Joe O'Brien (Pioneer) Jr.; Morgan Olson-Fabbro (Menlo-Atherton) Jr.; Nick Naruns (St. Francis) Sr.; Cameron Yates (Monta Vista) Sr.; Matthew Bucter (Leland) Jr.; Alex Gow (Menlo-Atherton) Sr. goalie

Honorable Mention

Anthony Buljan (Serra) Jr.; Russell Blockhus (Mountain View) Jr.; Brian Bligh (Woodside) Sr.; Gavin Kerr (Gunn) Sr.; Scott Keighley (Leland) Sr.; Michael Magee (Mountain View) Jr.; Peter Rockhold (Palo Alto) Sr.; Con O'Leary (Serra) Sr.; Ryhan Klaus (St. Francis) Sr.; Tanner Sarpa (Leland) Sr.; Olec Koujikon (Mountain View) Sr.


Most Valuable Player: Max Schell (Soquel) Sr.

First Team

Harrison Enright (Sacred Heart Prep) So.; Matt Orton (Los Altos) Sr.; Nick Hale (Menlo School) Sr.; Adam Warmoth (Los Altos) Sr.; Brad Haaland (Menlo School) Sr.; Michael Holloway (Sacred Heart Prep) Jr.; Shawn Welch (Mitty) So.; Danny Buzzetta (Valley Christian) Sr.; Will Runkel (Sacred Heart Prep) Jr. goalie

Second Team

Cullen Raisch (Soquel) Sr.; Ben Pickard (Aptos) Sr.; Kyle Koenig (Sacred Heart Prep) Sr.; Ian McColl (Los Altos) Jr.; Max Draga (Soquel) Jr.; Zach Churukian (Sacred Heart Prep) Jr.; Sam Lisbon (Los Altos) So.; Jack Lucas (Menlo School) Sr.; Ben Price (Carmel) Sr. goalie; Connor Dillon (Menlo School) Sr. goalie

Honorable Mention

Akshay Ramachandram (Harker) Sr.; Victor Stolle (Mitty) Sr.; Alexander Carlisle (Menlo School) Jr.; Paul Bergevin (Los Altos) Jr.; Max McKelvy (Sacred Heart Prep) Sr.; Carmen Martino (Valley Christian) Sr.; Jeff DaRas (Mitty) Sr.; Brad Hinrichs (Mitty) Sr.; Zack Westervelt (Soquel) Sr.; Ian Wreckler (Aptos) Sr. goalie; Brian Roush (Valley Christian) So. goalie.

Teams are selected by the coaches

— Palo Alto Online Sports

What is community worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Be the first to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

Nationally renowned Indian restaurant expanding to Palo Alto
By Elena Kadvany | 1 comment | 2,441 views

Summer travel: Is anything changing?
By Sherry Listgarten | 8 comments | 1,027 views

I feel sorry for Stanford University
By Diana Diamond | 5 comments | 929 views

Swimming with the kids
By Cheryl Bac | 2 comments | 581 views

Premarital and Couples: "Our Deepest Fear" by Marianne Williamson
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 576 views