Palo Alto players honored on all-league football team


Six members of the Palo Alto football team who have helped the Vikings compile a 10-2 record and reach the championship game of the Central Coast Section Open Division playoffs, have been named among the most outstanding players on the 2011 All-SCVAL De Anza Division team.

B.J. Boyd, Tory Prati, Dre Hill, Ozzy Braff, Morris Gates-Mouton and Keller Chryst all were among the top honorees. The Vikings also had seven other players named to either the first-team offense or defensive units.

No. 4 seed Palo Alto will play No. 2 seed Bellarmine (11-1) on Friday (8 p.m.) for the CCS Open Division title. The Vikings are the defending champs.


Most Valuable Player: Garret Zeiter (Los Gatos) RB

Outstanding Defensive Player: Shane Smith (Los Gatos)

Outstanding Offensive Player: B.J. Boyd (Palo Alto) WR

Outstanding Quarterback: Mike Butler (Mountain View)

Co-Outstanding Lineman: Dominick Jackson (Homestead), Vita Vea (Milpitas)

Outstanding Offensive Lineman: Tory Prati (Palo Alto)

Outstanding Defensive Lineman: Ken Hampel (Mountain View)

Outstanding Offensive Backs: Dre Hill (Palo Alto), Tyler Bond (Homestead)

Outstanding Wide Receiver: Robert Graham (Homestead)

Co-Outstanding Tight Ends: Max Friday (Los Gatos), Ozzy Braff (Palo Alto)

Outstanding Inside Linebacker: Corbin Jackson (Wilcox)

Outstanding Outside Linebacker: Morris Gates-Mouton (Palo Alto)

Outstanding Defensive Back: Squally Canada (Milpitas)

Co-Outstanding Seniors: Jordan Lockett (Milpitas), Shane Bond (Homestead)

Outstanding Junior: Kyle Dozier (Saratoga)

Outstanding Sophomore: Keller Chryst (Palo Alto)

Co-Outstanding Freshman: Vita Musika (Milpitas), Api Mane (Milpitas)

First Team Offense

Running Backs: Jorge Talamante (Homestead); Sammy Fanua (Milpitas); Roland Luke (Wilcox); Marcus Jones (Mountain View)

Wide Receivers: Teddy Enfantino (Los Gatos); Bemi Onipede (Los Altos); Jayshawn Gates-Mouton (Palo Alto); Rodney McKenzie (Milpitas); Tre Hartley (Milpitas); Kevin Fletcher (Wilcox)

Quarterback: Mitch Casas (Saratoga)

Offensive Linemen: Chuck Sullivan (Los Gatos); Nico Aimonetti (Los Gatos); Kevin Tjon (Los Gatos); Spencer Drazovich (Palo Alto); Michael Lyzwa (Palo Alto); Sam Moses (Palo Alto); Darrien Hamberry (Milpitas); Sefa Mikaio (Wilcox); Malik Letatau (Mountain View); James Tilton (Mountain View)

Placekicker: Cameron Heen (Homestead)

First Team Defense

Defensive backs: Jake Bevans (Los Gatos); Brent McCoy (Los Gatos); Justin Loveett (Milpitas); Todd Grimm (Los Altos); Matt Tolbert (Palo Alto); Gabe Landa (Palo Alto)

Inside Linebackers: Mario Aguirre (Milpitas); Brandon Oliveri-O'Connor (Saratoga); Devin Shaumburg (Mountain View); Dylan Auerback (Mountain View)

Outside Linebackers: Zac Janovich (Los Gatos); John Marden (Homestead); Mosa Likio (Wilcox); Martin Ankovic (Wilcox)

Defensive Lineman: Chris Martinez (Palo Alto); John Antuna (Homestead); Alex Peni (Homestead); Talla Brown (Wilcox); Kareem Hyver (Los Altos); Demarco Leonard (Milpitas)

Utility: Stephen Ruff (Saratoga); Stefan Lemak (Mountain View)

(All-league team selected by the coaches)

— Palo Alto Online Sports

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Be the first to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

Beer and brats: Ludwig's German Table coming to Mountain View
By Elena Kadvany | 5 comments | 3,504 views

Who Pays for Palo Alto Schools
By Steve Levy | 38 comments | 1,957 views

The Other Greenhouse Gas
By Sherry Listgarten | 8 comments | 1,800 views

College Tours
By John Raftrey and Lori McCormick | 0 comments | 1,050 views

Let’s blame car drivers, not the pedestrians wearing black clothes!!??
By Diana Diamond | 11 comments | 869 views


Short story writers wanted!

The 33rd Annual Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest is now accepting entries for Adult, Young Adult (15-17) and Teen (12-14) categories. Send us your short story (2,500 words or less) and entry form by March 29. First, Second and Third Place prizes awarded in each category.

Contest Details