Luck, Shaw earn top honors on Pac-12 football team


Quarterback Andrew Luck has been named the Pac-12's Offensive Player of the Year for the second consecutive season while David Shaw has been selected as the conference's Coach of the Year after guiding Stanford to an 11-1 regular season record in his first season at the helm of the Cardinal program.

Luck was one of six Stanford players to land spots of the first team, a total second only to USC's conference high seven first-team selections. Joining Luck as first team all-conference selections were tight end Coby Fleener, right guard David DeCastro, left tackle Jonathan Martin, outside linebacker Chase Thomas and strong safety Delano Howell.

Luck has completed 261 of 373 passes (70.0) for 3,170 yards and 35 touchdowns this season. He leads the Pac-12 in passing efficiency (167.5) and under his guidance the Cardinal is averaging 43.6 points a game, which ranks fifth nationally, and 480.9 yards a game in total offense.

He has quarterbacked Stanford to a 23-2 record dating to last season, as the Cardinal has spent a school-record 21 weeks ranked in the Top 10 of the Associated Press poll.

In the regular-season finale against Notre Dame on Saturday, Luck broke Stanford's single season and career mark for touchdown passes, running his totals to 35 and 80, respectively. He also set a career standard for total offense with 10,218 yards.

Stanford is 31-6 (.838) in Luck's 37 career starts. His 31 wins as a starter ranks first among the school's all-time list of quarterbacks.

Luck, a junior from Houston, Texas, becomes the fifth player to be twice named the conference's Offensive Player of the Year, joining Reggie Bush of USC (2004-05), Ruben Mayes of Washington State (1984-85), John Elway of Stanford (1980, '82) and Charles White of USC (1978-79).

Luck's selection also marks the third straight season a Stanford player has earned the award, following Toby Gerhart in 2009 and Luck last season.

In his first season as Stanford's head coach, Shaw has guided the Cardinal to its second straight 11-1 regular season record and its first back-to-back 10-win seasons in program history. Under his leadership, the Cardinal has been ranked in the top 10 of the AP poll for a school-record 21 consecutive weeks and was ranked as high as No. 2 in the USA Today Coaches poll on Nov. 6.

His first Cardinal squad currently ranks fifth nationally in scoring offense (43.58), 10th in total offense (480.92) and ranks among the best in several defensive categories, including rushing defense (5th; 90.33) and total defense (24th; 331.42).

DeCastro and Martin, anchors of Stanford's offensive line for the past three seasons, repeat as first-team selections. Both players have keyed pass protection that has allowed just nine sacks this season while paving the way for Stanford's running game to average 207.92 yards on the ground. DeCastro is also a finalist for the Outland Trophy while Martin is one of three finalists for the Lombardi Award.

Fleener earns first team accolades for the first time in his career after catching 32 passes for 648 yards and a team-high 10 touchdowns from his tight end position. He is averaging 20.2 yards per catch this season and leads all FBS tight ends in touchdown receptions.

Thomas tops the Pac-12 in tackles-for-loss per game (1.46) and ranks second in sacks per game (0.71) from his outside linebacker position. He currently ranks fourth on the team in total tackles with 46, including 28 solo efforts and has forced a team-high five fumbles on the year.

Howell earns first team honors after finishing the regular season with 37 total tackles, despite missing three games with injury.

Stanford junior Stepfan Taylor, who compiled his second straight 1,000-yard season, earned second-team honors at running back.

He is joined on the second team by defensive end Ben Gardner, who registered 10 tackles for loss among his 32 stops as a first-year starter, and kicker Jordan Williamson, who converted 12 of 15 field goals in nine games this season.

Nine Stanford players earned honorable-mention accolades, including senior Max Bergen (special teams), offensive lineman Cameron Fleming, fullback Ryan Hewitt, defensive lineman Matt Masifilo, Ty Montgomery (special teams), Drew Terrell (return specialist), defensive back Michael Thomas, tight end Levine Toilolo and offensive lineman David Yankey.

— Stanford Sports Information

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Don't be the last to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

Peek inside the fine-dining Selby's, opening in Redwood City this summer
By Elena Kadvany | 6 comments | 4,622 views

If you do nothing else, do These Three Things
By Sherry Listgarten | 17 comments | 1,702 views

Premarital and Couples: "You're Not Listening to Me!" may mean "I don't feel heard."
By Chandrama Anderson | 1 comment | 1,230 views

Lentil Brownies
By Laura Stec | 3 comments | 279 views

Finding Balance
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 182 views


Vote now!

It's time once again to cast your vote for the best places to eat, drink, shop and spend time in Palo Alto. Voting is open now through May 27. Watch for the results of our 2019 Best Of contest on Friday, July 19.