Menlo-Atherton's Spindt earns MVP honors in volleyball


Versatile junior Alison Spindt, who did just about everything on the court for the Menlo-Atherton girls' volleyball team this season while helping the Bears win the PAL Bay Division title with a 14-0 record, has been named the league's Most Valuable Player.

Senior teammate Seini Moimoi and sophomore Pauli King, who also sparked the Bears to a 27-5 regular-season record and No. 2 seed in the Central Coast Section Division I playoffs, made the first team.


Most Valuable Player: Alison Spindt (Menlo-Atherton) Jr.

First Team

Stephanie Miller (Aragon) Sr.; Ariel Mangum (Aragon) Sr.; Shelby Vance (Carlmont) Sr.; Torika Ramulo (Carlmont) Sr.; Jessica Tam (Mills) Sr.; Danielle Peranich (Half Moon Bay) Sr.; Karyn Jacobs (San Mateoo) Sr.; Stephanie Lee (San Mateo) Sr.; Seini Moimoi (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.; Paulina King (Menlo-Atherton) So.; Madison McKeever (Burlingame) Sr.; Laura Neumayr (Burlingame) Jr.

Second Team

Shannon Wischer (San Mateo) Sr.; Kelly Ghiorso (San Mateo) Jr.; Jessica Navarro (Aragon) Sr.; Chanel Joyce (Aragon) Jr.; Ashley Duba (Carlmont) Sr.; Kailan Bedard (Carlmont) Jr.; Tessa Jonoubeh (Mills) Jr.; Shelly Holland (Half Moon Bay) Sr.; Katelyn Doherty (Menlo-Atherton) Jr.; Sarah Collins (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.; Morgan McKeever (Burlingame) So.; Meghan Ferer (Burlingame) Jr.

Honorable Mention

Camile Mauricio (San Mateo) Jr.; Angelica Petelo (San Mateo) So.; Audrey Jonoubeh (Mills) Sr.; Stephanie Pun (Mills) Jr.; Jamie Moore (Aragon) Sr.; Alexandrra Sullberg (Woodside) Jr.; Kendall Beebe (Carlmont) Sr.; Amelia Tupou (Carlmont) So.; Jessica Lehand (Half Moon Bay) Sr.; Hannah Branning (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.; Sara Altman (Menlo-Atherton) Jr.; Marlee Slaughter (Burlingame) Sr.; Kristin Chaney (Burlingame) Jr.


First Team

Kelley Fang (Aragon) Fr.; Xin Fang (Menlo-Atherton) Jr.; Lisa Sasaki (San Mateo) Fr.; Allie Economou (Burlingame) Jr.; Nicole Gedman (Burlingame) Jr.; Alicia Avalo (Burlingame) Fr.; Ashley Utz (Menlo-Atherton) Fr.; Kristin Kanaya (San Mateo) So.; Tiffany Yang (Menlo-Atherton) So.; Natalie Carney (Burlingame) Jr.


Most Valuable Player: Charlotte Pratt (Burlingame) Sr.

Most Valuable Goalie: Sammantha Gembala (Sequoia) Jr.

First Team

Marie Popp (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.; Brittany Krappe (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.; Emily Gran (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.; Danielle Flanagan (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.; Kira Tomlinson (Burlingame) Jr.; Nicole Reynolds (Burlingame) So.; Camille Zubizarettra (Castilleja) Sr.

Second Team

Jessica Heilman (Menlo-Atherton) So.; Katie Gutierrez (Burlingame) Jr.; Anna Yu (Castilleja) Fr.; Brianna Carroll (Sequoia) Sr.; Olivia Wade (Sequoia) Sr.; Ilana Crankshaw (Menlo School) Jr.; Kari Newman (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.

Honorable Mention

Kaelen Dunn (Menlo School) So.; Lucia Bertero (Sequoia) Sr.; Julia Pera (Aragon) Sr.; Ashley Williams (Burlingame) Jr.; Sarah Holsten (Castilleja) Jr.; Carol Fornaciari (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.


Player of the Year: Nick Hale (Menlo School) Sr.

Goalie of the Year: Connor Dillon (Menlo School) Sr.

First Team

Brad Haaland (Menlo School) Sr.; Morgan Olson-Fabbro (Menlo-Atherton) Jr.; Brian Bligh (Woodside) Sr.; Jack Lucas (Menlo School) Sr.; Eric Baker (Burlingame) So.; Alexander Carlisle (Menlo School) Jr.; Alex Gow (Menlo-Atherton) Sr. goalie

Second Team

Max Wilder (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.; Alex Snyder (Burlingame) Sr.; Nick Bauer (Burlingame) Sr.; Matt Cremers (Woodside) Jr.; Nick Goldman (Menlo School) Sr.; Adam Fecher (Carlmont) Sr.; Marley Edwards (Sequoia) Sr.

Honorable Mention

Johnny Wilson (Menlo School) So.; Harrison Holland-McCowan (Menlo-Atherton) Jr.; Julian Lavanchy (Carlmont) Jr.; George Archbold (Sequoia) Jr.; Nick Dallimanti (Woodside) Jr.; Kevin Garibaldi (Burlingame) Sr.


Most Valuable Player: Gabriel Hargis (Aragon) Sr.

Most Valuable Goalie: Jeff Arnaudo (Terra Nova) Sr.

First Team

Joel Crossfield (Terra Nova) Jr.; Shay Tassi (Terra Nova) Sr.; Carter White (Half Moon Bay) Sr.; Spencer White (Half Moon Bay) Sr.; Aaron Kim (Aragon) Sr.; John Halet (San Mateo) Jr.; Robert Dorst (Hillsdale) Sr.

Second Team

Christian Larsen (Aragon) Sr.; Blake Tandowsky (Aragon) Sr.; Brian Luhrs (Terra Nova) Sr.; Kyle Walden (Priory) Jr.; Dylan Babbs (San Mateo) Jr.; Mathew Tolar (Half Moon Bay) Jr.; Michael Sweeney (Hillsdale) Sr.

Honorable Mention

Will Loewenthal (Aragon) Sr.; Zachary Zorndorf (Terra Nova) Sr.; Eric Turnquist (Priory) Sr.; Shadi Barhoumi (San Mateo) Jr.; Jake Spaeth (Half Moon Bay) Sr.; Samuel Joly (Hillsdale) Jr.


First Team

Brooke Tsu (Burlingame) Sr.; Cindy Li (Hillsdale) So.; Mariko Iinuma (Hillsdale) Fr.; Erin LaPorte (Menlo-Atherton) Jr.; Kaeda Ishikawa (Aragon) So.; Christina Hsu (Aragon) Sr.; Amy Jiang (Aragon) Sr.; Cori Sidell (Carlmont) So.; Polina Davidenko (Burlingame) Sr.

Second Team

Lauren Sinatra (Burlingame) Jr.; Alex Harrigan (Burlingame) So.; Lauren Diller (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.; Irene Palisoc (Hillsdale) So.; Veronika Dvorak (Carlmont) Fr.; Christine Tataru (Carlmont) Sr.; Lizzie Siegel (San Mateo) So.; Samantha Wong (Aragon) Jr.

(All-league teams are selected by the coaches)

— Palo Alto Online Sports

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Don't be the last to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

If you do nothing else, do These Three Things
By Sherry Listgarten | 43 comments | 2,230 views

Lentil Brownies
By Laura Stec | 5 comments | 663 views

Finding Balance
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 338 views

Reflections on Pal0 Alto's Centennial -- now it's the city's 125th birthday!
By Diana Diamond | 2 comments | 101 views


Vote now!

It's time once again to cast your vote for the best places to eat, drink, shop and spend time in Palo Alto. Voting is open now through May 27. Watch for the results of our 2019 Best Of contest on Friday, July 19.