Stanford's Taylor is Pac-12 women's soccer player of year


Senior forward Lindsay Taylor was named Pac-12 Player of the Year in women's soccer on Wednesday, leading a Stanford sweep of conference awards.

Chioma Ubogagu was named Freshman of the Year and Paul Ratcliffe earned his fourth consecutive conference Coach of the Year award.

In all, Stanford had eight all-conference selections, including five on the first team: Taylor, senior midfielders Camille Levin and Palo Alto High grad Teresa Noyola, junior defender Alina Garciamendez, and sophomore goalkeeper Emily Oliver.

UCLA freshman defender Abby Dahlkemper, a Sacred Heart Prep graduate, was named to the first team.

Ubogagu, a forward, was named to the second team along with junior defender Rachel Quon. Junior midfielder Mariah Nogueira was an honorable mention choice.

In addition, Ubogagu and defender Kendall Romine were named to the All-Freshman team.

Taylor became the third consecutive Stanford player to earn Pac-12 Player of the Year honors, following Christen Press last year and Kelley O'Hara in 2009. Like her former teammates, Taylor led the conference in points (38) and goals (17) and led the Cardinal to the conference title. Taylor is the seventh Stanford player all-time to win the award.

"It's a tremendous honor considering the amount of talent in the Pac-12 and on the Stanford team," said Taylor, a native of nearby Los Altos who attended high school at Castilleja, only two blocks from the Stanford campus. "I never thought about winning it. I'm just focusing on trying to win a national championship."

In addition, Noyola led the Pac-12 in assists and Oliver led in goals-against average (0.25) and had eight shutouts for a Stanford team (19-0-1) that opens the NCAA tournament Friday against visiting Montana as the overall No. 1 seed.

Taylor will complete her Stanford career with four all-conference honors, including three first-team selections.

Ubogagu, from Coppell, Texas, becomes the fourth Stanford player in five years to win the Freshman of the Year award. She was second in the Pac-12 in assists (9), and fifth in goals (8) and (25).

Ratcliffe led the Cardinal to its third consecutive Pac-12 title and a 31-0 conference record in that span. In his four Coach of the Year seasons, Stanford has compiled a 37-1 conference record, a 49-0-1 home mark, and an overall record of 89-4-4.

The Pac-12 first-team honor is the third for Noyola, and the first for Garciamendez, Levin, and Oliver.

— Dave Kiefer, Stanford Sports Information

What is community worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

All your news. All in one place. Every day.

After experiencing harassment, owner of Zareen's restaurants speaks out about Islamophobia, racism
By Elena Kadvany | 28 comments | 6,401 views

Don't Miss Your Exit (and other lessons from an EV drive)
By Sherry Listgarten | 12 comments | 2,159 views

Goodbye Food Waste!
By Laura Stec | 5 comments | 2,057 views

"Better" Dads and "Re-invigorated" Moms: Happier Couples
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,478 views

The kindness of strangers
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 632 views


Register today!

‚ÄčOn Friday, October 11, join us at the Palo Alto Baylands for a 5K walk, 5K run, 10K run or half marathon! All proceeds benefit local nonprofits serving children and families.

Learn More