Stanford to host pro squash tournament


Stanford Squash will serve as the host for the ProSquash Netsuite Open this Friday through Monday, featuring five of the world's top 20 players. The event will feature the top talent from the U.S., England, Egypt, Canada, India and Scotland.

The winner of the annual event will take home $35,000.

Friday's eight matches will begin at 1 p.m., Saturday and Sunday, matches will be at 5 p.m and the Grand Final will be on Monday at 7 p.m. Matches will take place at the Arrillaga Squash Courts.

"We are very excited to be hosting our first world class Pro Squash tournament at Stanford," said head squash coach Mark Talbott.

The highest-ranked player and the top seed is England's Darly Selby, No. 11 in the world. The other top four seeds include Holland's Jan Anjema (No. 15 in the world), Egypt's Wael El Hindi (No. 16) and Omar Mossad (No. 17) and England's Alistair Walker (No. 19).

Also competing are America's (Julian Illingworth), Canada's (Shahier Razik), India's (Saurav Ghosal) and Scotland's (Alan Clyne) top players.

Tickets can be purchased online at Results can be obtained at

— Stanford Sports Information

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Be the first to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

Beer and brats: Ludwig's German Table coming to Mountain View
By Elena Kadvany | 5 comments | 3,516 views

Who Pays for Palo Alto Schools
By Steve Levy | 38 comments | 1,972 views

The Other Greenhouse Gas
By Sherry Listgarten | 8 comments | 1,805 views

College Tours
By John Raftrey and Lori McCormick | 0 comments | 1,066 views

Let’s blame car drivers, not the pedestrians wearing black clothes!!??
By Diana Diamond | 12 comments | 912 views


Short story writers wanted!

The 33rd Annual Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest is now accepting entries for Adult, Young Adult (15-17) and Teen (12-14) categories. Send us your short story (2,500 words or less) and entry form by March 29. First, Second and Third Place prizes awarded in each category.

Contest Details