Stanford men's water polo well-represented for World University Games


The Stanford men's water polo program will be well-represented at the 2011 World University Games this summer as five Cardinal players were named to the U.S. squad for the event on Wednesday by head coach Marc Hunt.

Recent graduates and All-Americans Jeffrey Schwimer, Drac Wigo, Janson Wigo and Sage Wright will be joined by current Cardinal standout and All-Mountain Pacific Sports Federation selection Peter Sefton. Stanford's five representatives is the most of any school on the team, with UC Irvine (two selections) being the only other team with more than one representative.

The 2011 World University Games will take place from August 11-23 in Shenzhen, China. The U.S has been slotted in Group C of the competition, along with Serbia, France and Singapore. The U.S. will begin group play August 11 against Singapore.

Schwimer and Wright completed their Stanford careers in fall 2010, leading the Cardinal to the MPSF Tournament title game and a 15-8 overall record. Each man was named to the ACWPC All-America Second Team following the season, while Schwimer earned a nod to the All-MPSF First Team and Wright was named to the Second Team. Schwimer tied for second on the team with 33 goals in 2010 while Wright, a three-time All-American, finished just a goal off that pace, ending the year with 32.

The Wigo twins, Drac and Janson, earned All-America honors from the ACWPC in each of their four years (2006-09) on The Farm. Drac, a first-team selection in 2009, scored 180 goals over his Stanford career, while helping lead the Cardinal to an NCAA title game berth in 2008. Janson, named to the ACWPC All-America Second Team following his junior and senior seasons, scored 165 career goals and was fourth in the MPSF with 2.19 goals per game in 2009.

Sefton, one of just two current collegiate players on the team (along with California's Cory Nasoff), is coming off of a 2010 season in which he was named All-MPSF honorable mention. The 6-4 utility from La Jolla finished fifth on the team with 27 goals and netted four hat tricks last season, including a four-goal effort against California on Oct. 3.


Stanford graduate and former assistant coach Dave Esquer was named National Coach of the Year on Tuesday, just three hours after his University of California team defeated Texas A&M, 7-3, in the College World Series.

Esquer arguably overcame more than any other coach in the country after his team was on the budget chopping block and faced its final season of competition. Through some last-minute funding, the team was reinstated on April 8. Two months later, the Bears clinched their first College World Series berth since 1992.

Esquer, in his 12th season at Cal, is 38-22 this season and 354-312-2 overall.

In other news, recent Stanford graduate Danny Sandbrink has signed with the San Francisco Giants. The 6-foot-2, 195-pounder was picked in the 42nd round of the Major League Baseball First-Year Player Draft.

Sandbrink is currently at the Giants' training center in Scottsdale, Ariz., and is awaiting assignment.

— Palo Alto Online Sports/Aaron Juarez of Stanford Sports Information

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Don't be the last to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

Beer and brats: Ludwig's German Table coming to Mountain View
By Elena Kadvany | 4 comments | 2,991 views

The Other Greenhouse Gas
By Sherry Listgarten | 8 comments | 1,642 views

Who Pays for Palo Alto Schools
By Steve Levy | 24 comments | 1,434 views

Couples: Mirror, Mirror on the . . . Fight?!
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,324 views

Know Before You Buy: Understanding Senior Living Facility Agreements
By Max Greenberg | 0 comments | 833 views


Short story writers wanted!

The 33rd Annual Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest is now accepting entries for Adult, Young Adult (15-17) and Teen (12-14) categories. Send us your short story (2,500 words or less) and entry form by March 29. First, Second and Third Place prizes awarded in each category.

Contest Details