Menlo's Michael tops All-WBAL girls' lacrosse team


Menlo School sophomore Michaela Michael was an easy choice for Most Valuable Player on the girls' 2011 All-West Bay Athletic League (Foothill Division) lacrosse team. All Michael did was score 120 goals and finish with 152 points to break team records this season.

Michael ranked No. 2 in the nation and No. 1 in the state in goals scored and was No. 3 in the nation and No. 1 in the state for most points (goals and assists). She also helped the Knights compile an 18-6 record while defending their regular-season and playoff titles.



Most Valuable Player: Michaela Michael (Menlo School) So.

First Team

Elyse Adler (Menlo School); Nicole Carlton (Burlingame); Kendall Cody (Sacred Heart Prep); Caroline Cummings (Sacred Heart Prep); Julia Farino (Menlo-Atherton); Martha Harding (Castilleja); Katherine Hobbs (Castilleja); Julia Keller (Sacred Heart Prep); Alexandra Kim (Menlo School); Katherine Madeira (Menlo School); Charlotte Pratt (Burlingame)

Second Team

Brooke Bullington (Menlo School); Emily Carlson (Menlo-Atherton); Charlotte Geaghan-Breiner (Castilleja); Melissa Holland (Sacred Heart Prep); Nina Loew (Burlingame); Catherine Lowdon (Burlingame); Stephanie Merenbach (Castilleja); Sydney Novak-Federmeyer (Menlo-Atherton); Rosario Perez (Sacred Heart Prep); Sophie Sheeline (Menlo School); Kyra Vargas (Menlo School)

Honorable Mention

Rina Addiego (Menlo School); Meredith Geaghan-Briener (Menlo-Atherton); Tyler Gindreax (Burlingame); Katie Gutierrez (Burlingame); Sophie Koontz (Castilleja); Bridgete Magana (Menlo-Atherton); Savannah McKinnon (Menlo School); Monica Rosenkranz (Menlo School); Emma Wine (Sacred Heart Prep)


Outstanding Attack: Haley Libuit (St. Francis)

Outstanding Defender: Emy Kelty (Palo Alto) Jr.

Outstanding Midfielder: Noel Painter (Los Gatos)

Outstanding Goalie: Stephanie Mock (St. Francis)

First Team

Maile Jones (St. Francis) attack; Kimmie Flather (Palo Alto) attack; Danielle Trapani (Los Gatos) attack; Gracie Cain (Palo Alto) Sr. defender; Rusty Magnan (Los Gatos) defender; Alyssa Conmy (Leland) defender; Jillian Tsai (Gunn) defender; Jacqueline Jordan (St. Francis) middie; Taylor Kotas (St. Francis) middie; Sarah Zuccaro (St. Francis) middie; Beth Ruder (St. Francis) middie; Charlotte Biffar (Palo Alto) So. Middie; Nina Kelty (Palo Alto) So. Middie; Lily Petroff (Los Gatos) middie; Marggy Rose (Leland) middie; Jennifer Chiou (Leland) middie; Bethany Shinn (Pioneer) middie; Sanam Mozaffari (Pioneer) middie; Madison Sabbag (Gunn) middie; Vanessa Block (Saratoga) middle.

Second Team

Leigh Dairaghi (Palo Alto) Sr. attack; Taylor Bawden (Los Gatos) attack; Katie Rose Skelly (Gunn) attack; Lauren King (Gunn) attack; Nicole Laterbach (St. Francis) defender; Cori Fukushima (Los Gatos) defender; Atrina Mendipour (Leland) goalie; Layla Memar (Palo Alto) Jr. middie; Brielle Mariucci (St. Francis) middie; Alexandra Bowers (Leland) middie; Adrienne Norris (Saratoga) middie; Ellen Scott (Saratoga) middie.

(All-league teams are selected by the coaches)

— Palo Alto Online Sports

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Be the first to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

If you do nothing else, do These Three Things
By Sherry Listgarten | 43 comments | 2,216 views

Lentil Brownies
By Laura Stec | 5 comments | 611 views

Finding Balance
By Cheryl Bac | 0 comments | 335 views


Vote now!

It's time once again to cast your vote for the best places to eat, drink, shop and spend time in Palo Alto. Voting is open now through May 27. Watch for the results of our 2019 Best Of contest on Friday, July 19.