Foard named first team lacrosse All-American

Ragira voted the Pac-10's top freshman baseball player

Stanford senior Leslie Foard became the first player in women's lacrosse program history to be named first team All-American by the IWLCA with the announcement of the honors on Tuesday. Lauren Schmidt was named to the third team for a second consecutive season.

Foard earned her first All-American nod after leading Stanford with 62 points (43 goals and 19 assists) and 52 draw controls. The 52 draw controls are a single-season school record.

Schmidt recorded 49 points (35 goals and 14 assists) and joins Laura Shane as the only Cardinal players named All-American in multiple years.

Foard and Schmidt led the Cardinal this season from the midfield, often sacrificing playing time as Stanford subbed midfield lines. The Cardinal earned its second consecutive trip to the NCAA tournament and it highest national ranking at No. 6.

Both Foard and Schmidt are nominees for the Tewaaraton Award given to the nation's top player.


Stanford third baseman Stephen Piscotty was named a first team All-Pac-10 selection and Brian Ragira was named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year Tuesday.

Earning a spot on the honorable mention team was Ragira, Kenny Diekroeger, Tyler Gaffney, Chris Reed, Jake Stewart and Austin Wilson.

Piscotty, an honorable mention selection as a freshman, enters post season play with a team-best .361 average, third-best in the Pac-10. Ragira leads the Cardinal in RBIs with 41 and following Kenny Diekroeger is Stanford's second-straight freshman of the year selection and third overall.

Gaffney was named honorable mention for the second-straight year, as he enters the Fullerton Regional against Kansas State on a 17-game hit streak, while batting .320. Diekroeger is also on the team for the second-straight year, earning first team honors in 2010, batting .298.

Reed is third in the Pac-10 in saves with eight. Wilson is batting .313 and Stewart is hitting .294.


Stanford is in 15th place with one more day of sailing to go at the coed national championships on the Hood River.

Freshman skipper Kevin Laube and his crew of Carolyn Ortel and Hannah Burroughs has sailed the B Division to 79 points over the first eight races, combining with the A Division to score 208 points. Laube's team is tenth in their division paced by a seventh, third and sixth place finish in the fourth, fifth and sixth races.

The A Division skippered by freshman Mateo Vargas and Oliver Toole has combined for 129 points through 10 races, finishing in the top-nine just twice for 129 points.


Palo Alto High grad Liv Jensen was named the MVP of the University of California women's team after earning seven All-American honors and swimming on the 200 medley relay that set an American record of 1:35.03 in the finals at the NCAA Championships in Austin, Texas.

Jensen, a junior, set a school record of 21.50 in the 50 free while taking second. This is Jensen's second straight team MVP award.

— Palo Alto Online Sports

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Be the first to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

Beer and brats: Ludwig's German Table coming to Mountain View
By Elena Kadvany | 5 comments | 3,504 views

Who Pays for Palo Alto Schools
By Steve Levy | 38 comments | 1,957 views

The Other Greenhouse Gas
By Sherry Listgarten | 8 comments | 1,799 views

College Tours
By John Raftrey and Lori McCormick | 0 comments | 1,050 views

Let’s blame car drivers, not the pedestrians wearing black clothes!!??
By Diana Diamond | 11 comments | 866 views


Short story writers wanted!

The 33rd Annual Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest is now accepting entries for Adult, Young Adult (15-17) and Teen (12-14) categories. Send us your short story (2,500 words or less) and entry form by March 29. First, Second and Third Place prizes awarded in each category.

Contest Details