Palo Alto, Menlo School dominate all-league teams



Most Valuable Player: Nick Morehead (Wilcox) Sr. pitcher

First Team

Austin Braff (Palo Alto) Jr. INF; Christoph Bono (Palo Alto) Sr. OF; T.J. Braff (Palo Alto) Sr. INF; B.J. Boyd (Palo Alto) Jr. OF; Will Glazier (Palo Alto) Sr. C; Ben Sneider (Palo Alto) Jr. P; Tyler Olivet (Los Gatos) Sr. INF; Mike Murano (Los Gatos) Sr. P; Paul Hernandez (Wilcox) Sr. INF; Tyler Kiefer (Wilcox) Jr. C; Mat Snider (Los Altos) Sr. OF; Mitch Kehlet (Los Altos) Sr. P; Luke Wiechec (Los Altos) Jr. Utility; Nolan O'Such (Los Altos) Jr. C; Alex Medin (Homestead) Jr. OF; Owen Price (Homestead) Sr. OF; Dillan Pak (Saratoga) Sr. Utility; Jordan Winawer (Mountain View) Jr. OF

Second Team

Drake Swezey (Palo Alto) Sr. Utility; Cory Tenanes (Palo Alto) Sr. OF; Kevin Brogan (Los Gatos) Sr. OF; Curtis Breidenthal (Los Gatos) Sr. OF; Peter Danna (Los Gatos) Sr. C; Hayden Hibberd (Los Gatos) Sr. Utility; Frankie Contreras (Wilcox) Sr. INF; Nick Molina (Wilcox) So. INF; Cole Fredricks (Wilcox) Sr. OF; Garrett Ciuk (Wilcox) So. P; Desmong Maisel (Cupertino) Sr. Utility; Joseph Chedid (Los Altos) Jr. INF; Simon Rosenbaum (Los Altos) Jr. INF; Will Dennis (Saratoga) Jr. INF; Kyle Dozier (Saratoga) So. OF; Stevie Berman (Saratoga) So. C; Carl Gutekunst (Homestead) Sr. Utility; Scott Torres (Homestead) Sr. INF; Gordon Deacon (Homestead) Sr. INF; Graham Gage (Homestead) Sr. P; Matthew Kang (Mountain View) Jr. INF.


Most Valuable Player: Matt Menezes (Milpitas) Sr.

First Team

Graham Fisher (Gunn) Jr.; Matt Mertz (Gunn) Sr.; Jack Hannan (Gunn) Sr.; Miguel Pope (Fremont) Sr.; Allen Yu (Lynbrook) Jr.; Michael Lee (Lynbrook) Jr.; Mario Garay (Milpitas) Sr.; Ronnie Reed (Milpitas) Fr.; Grant Manley (Monta Vista) Sr.l Mat Kelley (Monta Vista) Jr.; Ian Anderson (Monta Vista) Sr.; Sean Oswald (Santa Clara) Sr.; Matt Overy (Santa Clara) Sr.; Cody Levene (Santa Clara) Sr.

Second Team

Ryan Gorman (Gunn) Jr.; Brandon Parent (Fremont) Jr.; Chris Doi (Lynbrook) Jr.; Chris Ma (Lynbrook) So.; Kevin Tu (Milpitas) Sr.; David Garay (Milpitas) Jr.; Matt Hopkins (Monta Vista) Sr.; Austin Burrow (Monta Vista) Jr.; Zach James (Monta Vista) Sr.; Rinaldo Tompkins (Santa Clara) So.; Andrew Knowles (Santa Clara) Sr.; Lu Ling (Santa Clara) Jr.



Player of the Year: Steven Knudson (El Camino)

Pitcher of the Year: Zack Groetz (Burlingame) Sr.

First Team

Daniel Madigan (Carlmont) Sr. P; Justin Eclavea (El Camino) Sr. P; Kody Barden (Hillsdale) Sr. OF; Nick Lange (Menlo-Atherton) Jr. OF; Tevor McNeil (Aragon) Sr. OF; Kyle Zirbes (Menlo-Atherton ) Sr. INF; Kyle Barret (Carlmont) Fr. INF; Tyler Outzen (Aragon) Sr. INF; Armando Fajardo (Hillsdale) So. INF; Colton Hicks (Carlmont) Sr. C; Trevor Kelly (El Camino) Sr. C; Tyler Rio (El Camino) Sr. Utility; Ryan Anderson (El Camino) Sr. DH

Second Team

Bradley Levin (Carlmont) Sr. P; Robbie Foiles (Hillsdale) Jr. P; Grant Cecil (Hillsdale) Sr. OF; Chris Blanton (Burlingame) Sr. OF; Jake Mauldin (Sequoia) Jr. OF; Steven Pastora (El Camino) So. INF; Vince Arobio (Burlingame) So. INF; Mitch Auer (Aragon) Jr. INF; Chandler Eason (Menlo-Atherton) Sr. INF; Alex Kinder (Sequoia) Sr. C; Nick Manessis (Terra Nova) Jr. Utility; Austin Parker (Hillsdale) Sr. DH

Honorable Mention

Cam Winn (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.; Myles Brewer (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.; Merrick Belding (Burlingame) Jr.; Bryan Kuh (Burlingame) Sr.; Willie Baroncini (Carlmont) Sr.; Nic Bongi (Carlmont) Jr.; David Jimenez (El Camino) Jr.; Marcus Roman (El Camino) Jr.; D J Peluso (El Camino) Jr.; Clint Kastrop (Sequoia) Sr.; Matt Eastman (Sequoia) Sr.; Bryce Smith (Hillsdale) Sr.; Tyler Kelly (Hillsdale) Sr.; Aldo Severson (Aragon) So.; Sam Pacholuk (Aragon) Sr.; Ray Marshall (Terra Nova) Sr.; Justin Gubser (Terra Nova) Jr.


Co-Players of the Year: Freddy Avis (Menlo School) Jr. and Jake Bruml (Menlo School) Sr.

First Team

Jake Batchelder (Menlo School) Jr. P; John Geary (Sacred Heart Prep) Sr. P; Mike Covell (Sacred Heart Prep) So. C; Marshall Snook (Crystal Springs) Sr.; Cal Baloff (Sacred Heart Prep) Sr. INF; Tim Benton (Menlo School) Sr. INF; Mikey Diekroeger (Menlo School) Fr. INF; Matt Martella (Sacred Heart Prep) Jr. OF; Dylan Mayer (Menlo School) Jr. OF; Josh Rose (Pinewood) So. OF; Seth Duty (King's Academy) Sr. Utility.

Second Team

Greg Cox (Harker) Sr. P; Austin Marcus (Menlo School) So. C; Kevin Cali (Harker) So. C; Zack Buono (Sacred Heart Prep) Sr. INF; Zach Jones (Pinewood) Jr. INF; Andrew Lim (Crystal Springs) Jr. INF; Bo Sakowski (Sacred Heart Prep) Sr.; Steven Wright (King's Academy) Jr. INF; Phil Anderson (Menlo School) Sr. OF; Tomas O'Donnell (Sacred Heart Prep) Sr. OF; Jack Larson (Sacred Heart Prep) Jr. Utility

Honorable Mention

Daniel Chase (King's Academy) Jr.; Dylan Dreyer (Pinewood) Fr.; Caleb Gomez (King's Academy) So.; Nate Hoffman (Harker) Jr.; Owen Lewis (Pinewood) So.; Robert Wickers (Menlo School) Sr.

(All-league teams are selected by the coaches)

— Palo Alto Online Sports

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Be the first to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

Beer and brats: Ludwig's German Table coming to Mountain View
By Elena Kadvany | 5 comments | 3,504 views

Who Pays for Palo Alto Schools
By Steve Levy | 38 comments | 1,957 views

The Other Greenhouse Gas
By Sherry Listgarten | 8 comments | 1,799 views

College Tours
By John Raftrey and Lori McCormick | 0 comments | 1,050 views

Let’s blame car drivers, not the pedestrians wearing black clothes!!??
By Diana Diamond | 11 comments | 868 views


Short story writers wanted!

The 33rd Annual Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest is now accepting entries for Adult, Young Adult (15-17) and Teen (12-14) categories. Send us your short story (2,500 words or less) and entry form by March 29. First, Second and Third Place prizes awarded in each category.

Contest Details