Four Stanford students named Truman Scholars

Ishan Nath, Teryn Norris, Tenzin Seldon and Michael Tubbs recognized for commitment to public service

Four juniors from Stanford University have been selected as Truman Scholars by a foundation that recognizes students in the field of public service.

The juniors are among 60 students from colleges and universities across the country to be chosen for the scholarship, school officials said. The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation will provide up to $30,000 for graduate study to the selected students. The foundation chooses scholars based on their leadership potential and commitment to public service.

With four students selected, Stanford University boasts the largest number of scholars chosen from one school, university officials said. The Stanford University students chosen are Ishan Nath, Teryn Norris, Tenzin Seldon and Michael Tubbs.

The students' majors cover a wide spectrum within the field of public service including environmental studies, public policy, and race and ethnicity studies.

— Bay City News Service

We can't do it without you.
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Be the first to know

Get the latest headlines sent straight to your inbox every day.

Rose International Market reopens in Mountain View
By Elena Kadvany | 11 comments | 6,179 views

The Other Greenhouse Gas
By Sherry Listgarten | 6 comments | 1,427 views

We need a new garage downtown Palo Alto -- forget about being politically correct
By Diana Diamond | 10 comments | 1,350 views

Couples: Mirror, Mirror on the . . . Fight?!
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,159 views

Know Before You Buy: Understanding Senior Living Facility Agreements
By Max Greenberg | 0 comments | 739 views


Short story writers wanted!

The 33rd Annual Palo Alto Weekly Short Story Contest is now accepting entries for Adult, Young Adult (15-17) and Teen (12-14) categories. Send us your short story (2,500 words or less) and entry form by March 29. First, Second and Third Place prizes awarded in each category.

Contest Details