Top field players earn MVP honors for All-CCS boys' water polo


Two of the top scorers from the 2010 Central Coast Section championship matches headline the all-section water polo teams this season. Senior John Holland-McCowan of Menlo School, who scored three goals in the Knights' 11-5 win over Sacred Heart Prep in the CCS finals, is the Most Valuable Player in Division II. And Thomas Agramonte, who led St. Francis past Bellarmine for the Division I title, is the MVP in his division following a vote by a panel of coaches.



Most Valuable Player: Thomas Agramonte (St. Francis) Sr.

First Team

Mark Garner (St. Francis) Sr.; Mitchell Hamelton (Bellarmine) Jr.; Peter Simon (St. Francis) Jr.;Max Murphy (Serra) Sr.; Alex Bagdasarian (Monta Vista) Sr.; Alex Amm (Bellarmine) Sr.; Patrick Goodenough (St. Francis) Jr.; Daniel Camburn (Homestead) Sr.; Alex Hehir (Bellarmine) Sr.; Joey Maestri (Bellarmine) Sr. goalie

Second Team

Ben Hendricks (Gunn) Sr.; Brian Mortan (Salinas) Sr.; Jacob Ley (Leland) Jr.; Ken Wattana (Palo Alto) Sr.; Brian Bligh (Woodside) Jr.; Graham McClelland (Menlo-Atherton) Sr.; Jake Folan (Serra) Sr.; Cory McGee (St. Francis) So.; Sean Hughes (Monta Vista) Sr.; Jack Divita (St. Francis) Sr.; Chris Broom (St. Francis) Sr. goalie

Honorable Mention

Nick Anguelo (San Benito) Sr.; Aaron Lim (Mountain View) Jr.; Chris Asplund (Leland) Jr.; Nico Cabrara (Wilcox) Sr.; Conner Brunmier (Lynbrook) Sr.; Adam Gouldsberry (Los Gatos) Sr.; Joey Schaadt (Homestead) Sr.; Oscar Andaluz (Sequoia) Sr.; Chris Hunsdorfer (Salinas) Jr.; Ian Williams (Serra) Sr.; Alex Gow (Menlo-Atherton) So. Goalie; Andrew Sabour (Monta Vista) Sr. goalie


Most Valuable Player: John Holland-McCowan (Menlo School) Sr.

First Team

Colin Mulcahy (Los Altos) Sr.; Max Schell (Soquel) Jr.; Philip Bamberg (Sacred Heart Prep) Sr.; Nick Hale (Menlo School) Jr.; Robert Dunlevie (Sacred Heart Prep) Sr.; Dante Calvazes (Valley Christian) Jr.; Jack Finch (Menlo School) Sr.; Emilen Fritsch (Los Altos) Sr.; Caleb Conroy (Soquel) Sr.; Keegan Williams (Menlo School) Sr. goalie

Second Team

Zack Westervelt (Soquel) Jr.; Casey Fleming (Valley Christian) Sr.; Taylor Nollette (Mitty) Sr.; Danny Robinson (Live Oak) Sr.; Andy Toscano (Willow Glen) Sr.; Ben Pickard (Aptos) Jr.; Harrison Enright (Sacred Heart Prep) Fr.; Wade Avery (Menlo School) Jr.; Matt Orton (Los Altos) Jr.; Jackson Steinberg (Pioneer) Sr.; Daniel Schwartz (Soquel) Sr. goalie

Honorable Mention

Chris Ing (Harker) Sr.; Danny Buzzetta (Valley Christian) Jr.; Jay Louis (Carmel) Sr.; Conner Stuewe (R.L. Stevenson) Sr.; Jack Lucas (Menlo School) Jr.; Kyle Koenig (Sacred Heart Prep) Jr.; Adam Warmouth (Los Altos) Jr.; Carter White (Half Moon Bay) Sr.; Liam Shorrock (St. Ignatius) Sr.; Nicholas Chapman (Pioneer) Sr. goalie.

-- Palo Alto Online Sports

What is democracy worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

All your news. All in one place. Every day.

After experiencing harassment, owner of Zareen's restaurants speaks out about Islamophobia, racism
By Elena Kadvany | 28 comments | 6,929 views

Don't Miss Your Exit (and other lessons from an EV drive)
By Sherry Listgarten | 13 comments | 2,345 views

Goodbye Food Waste!
By Laura Stec | 5 comments | 2,242 views

Premarital and Couples: Tips for Hearing (Listening) and Being Known
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 745 views

Is racism also a local problem?
By Diana Diamond | 16 comments | 423 views


Register today!

‚ÄčOn Friday, October 11, join us at the Palo Alto Baylands for a 5K walk, 5K run, 10K run or half marathon! All proceeds benefit local nonprofits serving children and families.

Learn More