Stanford receives award for design, 'stewardship'

The late Joseph Ehrlich of Palo Alto receives a lifetime achievement award for his decades of work

Stanford University and the late Joseph Ehrlich of Palo Alto have been recognized for architectural excellence by the American Institute of Architects' Santa Clara Valley chapter.

Stanford was recognized in a recent awards ceremony for "its stewardship of the Stanford University campus, including the quality of architectural design, innovation and sustainable practices, historic preservation, and excellence in campus planning."

Ehrlich, FAIA, was posthumously awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award "in recognition of his passionate commitment to architecture and design, strong contributions to the evolution of creative corporate campus building and campus design, and guidance and mentorship of young professionals, being the co-founder of the Ehrlich Rominger Scholarship Fund.

Three special awards were conferred for "significant contributions" to Silicon Valley architecture: the Birge Clark Award named for the longtime Palo Alto architect to set the tone of much Palo Alto building design; the 25-year Award; and the Firm of the Year Award.

Goodwin Steinberg received the Birge Clark Award for his several decades of design work and social commitment throughout the area.

The 25-Year Award was conferred on the firm of Clark Stromquist Potter and Ehrlich in recognition of its 1967 design of the Hewlett Packard Corporate Campus Headquarters building in Palo Alto, citing its "enduring aesthetic, design and environmental qualities of a building at least 25-years

The Firm of the Year Award was conferred on Mountain View-based Hawley Peterson Snyder for the firm's "distinguished architectural contributions including commitment to design excellence, innovation, research, technological improvements to practice, sustainable design, collaboration and community engagement."

Other awards included:

A merit award for unbuilt projects: the Estonian Academy of Art, by Barton Architect, Palo Alto.

A merit award for interiors: the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, Hawley Peterson Snyder, Mountain View.

Citation awards for urban design went to: for Suzhou Creek North Bank, to Steinberg Architects, San Jose, and for the "Movement to an Age of Place (High Speed Rail)", to Barton Architect, Carrasco and Associates, and Fukuji Planning and Design all of Palo Alto.

In a "small projects" category, a citation award for design of the Bike Arc went to Joseph Bellomo Architects of Palo Alto, which also received a merit award for the Alester residence.

There were 74 nominations submitted for the biennial competition, according to chapter Executive Director Gail Price. For the first time, competition was opened up to non-members of the AIA chapter, and landscape architects were added to the judging panel, she said. More than 280 persons attended the Oct. 27 award ceremony.

-- Palo Alto Online staff

What is community worth to you?
Support local journalism.


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Stay informed

Get daily headlines sent straight to your inbox.

After 39 years of cakes and pastries, Palo Alto institution Prolific Oven to close
By Elena Kadvany | 59 comments | 18,284 views

Local Transit to the Rescue?
By Sherry Listgarten | 20 comments | 2,742 views

The Regional Housing Needs Allocation (RHNA) Process Explained
By Steve Levy | 15 comments | 1,719 views

"You Gotta Have Balls [to do counseling] . . .
By Chandrama Anderson | 0 comments | 1,536 views

Eating Green on the Green – August 25
By Laura Stec | 0 comments | 570 views


Register now!

‚ÄčOn Friday, October 11, join us at the Palo Alto Baylands for a 5K walk, 5K run, 10K run or half marathon! All proceeds benefit local nonprofits serving children and families.

More Info