Stanford's Press is named the Pac-10 Player of the Year

Ratcliffe is coach of the year; Noyola, Taylor and Quon all named to first team in soccer

It wasn't quite a clean sweep, but the conference champion Stanford women's soccer team still was well-represented on the 2010 All Pac-10 Conference team that was announced on Wednesday.

In a vote by the conference coaches, Cardinal senior forward Christen Press was named Pac-10 Player of the Year, Oregon State forward Jenna Richardson was named Freshman of the Year and Stanford head coach Paul Ratcliffe was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year.

Press has 23 goals, seven assists, and 53 points for No. 1 Stanford, which begins NCAA Tournament play Friday night at 7 against visiting Sacramento State. Her goal and point totals lead the nation and have put her in range to break Kelley O'Hara's year-old Stanford season records of 26 and 65.

This year, Press shattered Stanford career records for goals (68) and points (176) and tied the mark in assists (40). She has scored or assisted in 18 of Stanford's 20 matches and had a nine-match goal-scoring streak.

Press becomes Stanford's sixth Pac-10 women's soccer Player of the Year, following Carmel Murphy (1995), Erin Martin (1996), Tracye Lawyer (1998), Marcia Wallis (2002), and O'Hara (2009).

Leading his squad through an undefeated regular season, a Pac-10 Championship and the No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament for the second-straight year, Ratcliffe was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year for the third-consecutive season. Stanford is riding an 18-0-2 season heading into the tournament and is the consensus No. 1 team in the nation.

Ratcliffe's team (9-0 in conference) is only the second in Pac-10 history to have back-to-back undefeated seasons. Under his tutelage, the Cardinal has the third-best scoring offense in the nation, averaging 2.95 goals per game and the sixth-best goals against average (0.487).

The Cardinal lost three starters, including Hermann Trophy winner O'Hara, from the 25-1 team of a year ago that reached its first NCAA College Cup final, but Ratcliffe has made several moves that have proved vital.

Among them was moving sophomore Courtney Verloo from forward to central defense, where she has become one of team's most valuable players, and having faith in true freshman goalkeeper Emily Oliver, who has started since the team's sixth match. Oliver is No. 3 in the nation in goals-against average, at 0.299.

Stanford's first-team selections are Press, junior midfielder Teresa Noyola, sophomore defender Rachel Quon, and junior forward Lindsay Taylor. This is the second first-team honor for each.

Noyola, an attacking midfielder, is second on the team in scoring with personal collegiate highs of nine goals and 11 assists for 29 points. Quon, an outside left back, has two goals and four assists while also helping the Cardinal register 11 shutouts and allow only two goals in Pac-10 play. Taylor has nine goals and five assists for 23 points, and scored in five consecutive conference matches.

Stanford's second-team selections are Verloo and sophomore midfielder Mariah Nogueira. Sophomore defender Alina Garciamendez, junior forward Camille Levin, and Oliver received honorable mention honors. In addition, Oliver was named to the Pac-10 All-Freshman team.


First Team

Christen Press* F Sr. Stanford

Sydney Leroux F Jr. UCLA

Alex Morgan*** F Sr. California

Teresa Noyola* MF Jr. Stanford

Kate Deines MF Jr. Washington

Kylie Wright MF Sr. UCLA

Jen Stoltenberg D/F Sr. Oregon

Rachel Quon* D So. Stanford

Lauren Barnes D Sr. UCLA

Lindsey Taylor* F Jr. Stanford

Colleen Boyd GK Jr. Oregon State

*two-time All-Pac-10 honoree

***four-time All-Pac-10 honoree

Second Team

Jenna Richardson F Fr. Oregon State

Chelsea Buckland F So. Oregon State

Megan Ohai F/MF Sr. USC

Megan Jesolva MF Sr. California

Taylor McCarter MF So. Arizona State

Mariah Nogueira MF So. Stanford

Courtney Verloo D So. Stanford

Karter Haug D Sr. USC

Courtney Wetzel D Sr. Oregon State

Alexandra Elston MF Sr. Arizona State

Jorde LaFontaine-Kussmann GK Jr. Washington

Honorable Mention

Lauren Battung (CAL, So., F/MF); Zakiya Bywaters (UCLA, So., F); Micaela Castain (WSU, Fr., F); Alyssa Davila (USC, Sr., MF); Alina Garciamendez (STAN, So., D); Camille Levin (STAN, Jr., F); Devin Marshall (ASU, Fr., F); Sarah Martinez (WASH, Jr., F); Emily Oliver (STAN, Fr., GK); Jazmin Ponce (ARIZ, Fr., F/MF); Jenna Richmond (UCLA, Fr., MF); Ashli Sandoval (USC, RS JR, MF/D); Brandi Vega (WSU, So., F)

All-Freshman Team

Jenna Richardson F Oregon State

Elizabeth Eddy F/MF USC

Jenna Richmond MF UCLA

Emily Oliver GK Stanford

Devin Marshall F Arizona State

Lindsay Elston MF Washington

Jazmin Ponce F/MF Arizona

Emi Lawson D California

Micaela Castain F Washington State

Kaitlyn Fitzpatrick MF California

Natalia Ledezma MF UCLA

-- Palo Alto Online Sports and Dave Kiefer/Stanford Sports Information


Sorry, but further commenting on this topic has been closed.

Salt & Straw Palo Alto to open Nov. 23
By Elena Kadvany | 0 comments | 2,967 views

El Camino: Another scheme to increase congestion?
By Douglas Moran | 28 comments | 2,755 views

Trials of My Grandmother
By Aldis Petriceks | 2 comments | 1,384 views

Lakes and Larders (part 2)
By Laura Stec | 0 comments | 1,133 views

Can we ever improve our schools?
By Diana Diamond | 5 comments | 375 views