About Palo Alto Online
Keeping the lights on: An ongoing report of local power conditions

Last Updated: Monday, June 19, 2006 10:51 AM

Three-hour power outage hits Palo Alto
Equipment failure cited for unplanned blackout

An unplanned power outage this morning left nearly 1,500 Palo Altans in the dark for nearly three hours.

The outage occurred because of an equipment failure, Palo Alto Utilities spokesperson Linda Clerkson said. Those homes and offices that were affected were located between Middlefield Road and Alma Street, bounded by San Antonio Road on the south and Charleston Road on the north. Power went out at approximately 8:45AM and was restored at 11:25AM. The cause of the outage is under investigation, Clerkson said.

-- Daryl Savage


Full Coverage from
the Palo Alto Weekly and The Almanac

Thursday, May 24, 2001

Three-hour power outage hits Palo Alto (added 12:30 p.m.)

Thursday, May 10, 2001

Palo Alto could avoid blackouts (added 2 p.m.)

Friday, April 13, 2001

Utilities department to sue PG&E (added 8:30 a.m.)

Residents who use more power will pay for it (added 8:30 a.m.)

Tuesday, April 10, 2001

Palo Alto utilities may be on their own (added 2 p.m.)

$27 million bond sought by utility department (added 2 p.m.)

Palo Alto hopes to buy $3.5 million generator (added 2 p.m.)

Friday, April 6, 2001

PG&E wants to break contract with utility alliance (added 8:30 a.m.)

Whopping gas hike sought (added 8:30 a.m.)

Tuesday, March 20, 2001

Rolling blackouts resume (added 10 a.m.)

Monday, March 19, 2001

Rolling blackouts resume (added 1:39 p.m.)

Wednesday, March 14, 2001

Energy crisis could hit residents' pocketbooks (added 2 p.m.)

Rolling blackouts not going away (added 2 p.m.)

Wednesday, March 7, 2001

Energy talk in Palo Alto (added 10:30 a.m.)

Manager can negotiate power contracts (added 8 a.m.)

Tuesday, February 20, 2001

Protecting the future of power (added 2 p.m.)

Fighting back (added 2 p.m.)

The rush to solar in 2001 (added 2 p.m.)

Costs plummet for home solar systems (added 2 p.m.)

Living off the grid (added 2 p.m.)

What is solar power? (added 2 p.m.)

Residents enjoy benefits of solar power (added 2 p.m.)

Rebate offered for solar power (added 2 p.m.)

Wednesday, February 14, 2001

Rolling blackouts averted (added 2 p.m.)

Friday, February 9, 2001

Small steps for energy conservation (added 9 a.m.)

Wednesday, February 7, 2001

Stanford plugs into its own power (added 2 p.m.)

Little reassurance at forum (added 2 p.m.)

Friday, January 26, 2001

Residents can air power concerns (added 8:30 a.m.)

Tuesday, January 23, 2001

Black-outs spotty, but not random (added 3 p.m.)

Power for the people (added 8:30 a.m.)

Foresight and megawatts (added 8:30 a.m.)

Local control benefits residents (added 8:30 a.m.)

Friday, January 19, 2001

Blackouts possible today (added 9:50 a.m.)

Thursday, January 18, 2001

Rolling blackout is lifted (added 1:40 p.m.)

Rolling blackout hits again (added 11:15 a.m.)

Rolling blackouts hit Palo Alto (added 9:38 a.m.)

Wednesday, January 17, 2001

Blackout suspended, could resume at 6 p.m. (added 2:50 p.m.)

Rolling blackouts hit Palo Alto (added 1:54 p.m.)

Rolling blackouts hit Palo Alto (added 1:14 p.m.)

Thursday, January 11, 2001

Rolling blackout begins at 6 p.m. (added 5 p.m.)

Rolling blackout likely tonight (added 2:20 p.m.)