Kristine Fitzhugh murder story archive

Last Updated: Friday, October 12, 2001 4:30 p.m.

Fitzhugh to appeal sentence

Kenneth Fitzhugh, the Palo Alto real estate consultant convicted of killing his wife, Kristine Fitzhugh, in their home last year, filed notice Oct. 11 that he intends to seek an appeal. The notice came the day after Justice Franklin D. Elia sentenced him to 15 years to life in prison for the crime.

Full Coverage from the Palo Alto Weekly

Friday, October 12, 2001
Fitzhugh to appeal sentence (added 4:30 p.m.)
Fitzhugh receives 15 years to life (added 6:30 a.m.)

Wednesday, October 10, 2001
Fitzhugh gets 15 to life (added 10:20 a.m.)
News Bulletin:
Superior Court Judge Franklin Elia has sentience Kenneth Fitzhugh to 15 year to life for the murder of his wife Kristine. (Sent 9:50 a.m.)

Tuesday, August 7, 2001
Curtain closing on Fitzhugh saga (added 2 p.m.)

Thursday, August 2, 2001
Fitzhugh found guilty of killing his wife (updated 5:30 p.m.)
Fitzhugh guilty of second degree murder (added 4:15 p.m.)
News Bulletin: The 12-person jury in the Kenneth Fitzhugh murder trial has just returned a second-degree guilty verdict in the killing of his wife Kristine. (sent 4:07 p.m.)

Wednesday, August 1, 2001
Jury deliverates in Fitzhugh case (added 3:30 p.m.)

Tuesday, July 31, 2001
Fitzhugh's fate in jurors' hands (added 2 p.m.)

Friday, July 27, 2001
Fitzhughs faced a financial crisis (added 9:30 a.m.)
Kenneth Fitzhugh fights for credibility (added 8 a.m.)
Poet writes of Fitzhugh case (added 8 a.m.)

Wednesday, July 25, 2001
Fitzhugh hypnosis 'recall' disclosed (added 5:20 p.m.)
Fitzhugh says he didn't know (updated 11 a.m.)
Fitzhugh says he didn't know (added 6 a.m.)

Tuesday, July 24, 2001
Kristine Fitzhugh 'adamant' about telling parentage truth (added 2:30 p.m.)

Monday, July 23, 2001
Fitzhugh son takes stand (added 6 p.m.)
Scientist casts doubt on where Fitzhugh wife died (added 2:45 p.m.)

Thursday, July 19, 2001
Fitzhugh seemed calm on morning of crime (added 2:45 p.m.)

Wednesday, July 18, 2001
Judge admonishes defense attorney (added 5:30 p.m.)
An angry Fitzhugh depicted in video (added 10:30 a.m.)

Monday, July 16, 2001
Fitzhugh interview played in court (added 6 p.m.)
Key witness's aunt to return to stand (added 12:15 p.m.)

Friday, July 13, 2001
Prosecution could rest as early as Tuesday (added 6:30 a.m.)

Thursday, July 12, 2001
Former lover recounts affair with Kristine Fitzhugh (added 11 a.m.)
Biological father recounts affair with Kristine Fitzhugh (added 6:10 a.m.)

Wednesday, July 11, 2001
Biological father takes stand (added 2:45 p.m.)

Tuesday, July 10, 2001
Prosecution tries to crack Fitzhugh alibi (added 2 p.m.)

Friday, July 6, 2001
Distraught husband or cunning murderer? (added 8:30 a.m.)

Thursday, July 5, 2001
Medical examiner: Kristine Fitzhugh's death no accident (added 12:45 p.m.)

Tuesday, July 3, 2001
Defense says Fitzhugh traumatized after seeing wife's body (added 12:45 p.m.)

Monday, July 2, 2001
Prosecution: Fitzhugh not 'innocent husband' (added 11:30 a.m.)

Thursday, June 28, 2001
Fitzhugh may testify in his trial (added 4:30 p.m.)
Media bias not a serious issue in jury selection (added 10 a.m.)

Wednesday, June 27, 2001
Fitzhugh jury questioning turns to media coverage (added 11:45 a.m.)

Monday, June 25, 2001
Fitzhugh jury pool gathered (added 11:45 a.m.)

Friday, June 22, 2001
Fitzhugh jury selection to start Monday (added 1 p.m.)

Wednesday, June 20, 2001
Judge allows Fitzhugh paternity motive in slaying (added 12:20 p.m.)
Jury to hear Fitzhugh motive evidence (added 9:45 a.m.)

Friday, May 11, 2001
Fitzhugh laywer to try other case first (added 8 a.m.)

Friday, May 4, 2001
Fitzhugh laywer to try other case first (added Noon)

Wednesday, August 30, 2000
Fitzhugh murder trial delayed (added 2:30 p.m.)

Wednesday, August 9, 2000
Fitzhugh trial set (added 7:30 a.m.)

Tuesday, July 18, 2000
Fitzhugh bound over for trial for wife's murder (added 5 p.m.)

Monday, June 26, 2000
Fitzhugh attorney challenges police testimony (added 3 p.m.)

Friday, June 23, 2000
Fitzhugh attorneys challenge evidence collection (added 2:20 p.m.)

Thursday, June 22, 2000
Fitzhugh investigation focuses on money (added 2:15 p.m.)

Tuesday, June 20, 2000
Preliminary hearing in Fitzhugh case set for Thursday (added 2 p.m.)

Friday, June 9, 2000
Bail set in Fitzhugh case: $10 million (added 5:30 p.m.)

Tuesday, May 23, 2000
Text of the affidavit filed by Palo Alto police (added 10:30 a.m.)

Monday, May 22, 2000
'I'm innocent': Plea entered defense lawyer confident (added 6:30 p.m.)
Schools reeling after arrest of music teacher's husband (added 4:15 p.m.)
Fitzhugh enters plea of not guilty (added 2:09 p.m.)
Arraignment in Palo Alto court today (added 10:30 a.m.)

Friday, May 19, 2000
Husband charged with murder in wife's death (added 6:15 p.m.)
Husband arrested, charged with murder (added 4 p.m.)
Arrest made in murder investigation (added 3:30 p.m.)

Monday, May 15, 2000
Investigation ends at Southgate home (added 3 p.m.)

Friday, May 12, 2000
Burglary ruled out in homicide investigation (added 11:30 a.m.)

Thursday, May 11, 2000
Police offering little information on case (added 1:30 p.m.)
Police expand team of investigators (added 11 a.m.)

Wednesday, May 10, 2000
Probe into killing expanded (added noon)

Tuesday, May 9, 2000
Police try to ease Southgate residents' fears (added 3:30 p.m.)
Slain teacher's husband hires attorney (added 10:25 a.m.)

Monday, May 8, 2000
Music teacher presumed murdered in her home (added 4:30 p.m.)
Fitzhugh's love for music touched many lives (added 4:30 p.m.)
Recent homicides in Palo Alto (added 4:30 p.m.)
Slain music teacher touched many lives (added 2 p.m.)
Music teacher slain in her Palo Alto home (added 11 a.m.)